We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
115
169
91
51
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
169
91
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size executive room town centre sky tv coffee machine sat nav comfortable bed train station one night stay would stay again restaurant staff reception area saturday night cooked breakfast no air con good nights sleep gym
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel that is well placed for Chelmsford city centre with ample parking, with free use of the Absolute gym next door which is excellent.
The hotel is well run with competent and attentive staff.
The food offerings are very good and offer good value for money, breakfast is of a very good standard.
The rooms are a good size, very clean and very well appointed, large flat screen tv, coffee machine, iron etc.
Thank you I will be returning when in Chelmsford.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank lotus3770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

The restaraunt staff are some of the nicest ive come accross and i travel for business weekly.
Great authentic food cooked to order by cheerful chefs who sing as they cook. Top manager too.
Very helpful and will go out of his way to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ali0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

My group has now stayed at this hotel four times in the last six years. On all occasions the staff have looked after us very well and have been very helpful and accommodating to our requests. I have just read a couple of negative reviews and I have to strongly disagree with the sentiments expressed. On average we have between 50 and 60 people staying and not one of them has ever complained. The majority of the staff are not English and many people regard it as being the better for that. The Manageress and the lady in charge of the restaurant are both outstanding and speak perfect English. The food and service were excellent as were the quality of the rooms. I can do nothing but recommend this property,

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElhamValleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Never again would I stay at this hotel. I'm not normally one to complain but this stay was awful. The staff speak very little English and are blunt and rude.
The room was dirty with the bathroom having hand marks all over the mirror which wiped off easily with a wipe. The showers are poor and very cheap.

But the worst part was to come when we sat down for breakfast. I've never in my life attempted to eat such poor quality food. I don't expect the best but it really wasn't edible. The sausages were that bad you need a steak knife to cut through them and quite frankly it was all awful.

On a plus side the best part about my stay was checking out and leaving the hotel as quick as possible.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mufcalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly, may I thank you for bringing the matters in your trip advisor review.

I am sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were disappointing.

I understand that you have encountered hand marks on your mirror and found the showers of poor quality. If something is not right or up to the guest's satisfaction, we would welcome the feedback brought forward straight away, giving us an opportunity to put things right, move to another room or upgrade.

We offer an Italian experience in our Restaurant and we are proud in delivering authentic Italian theme, where my Chef's prepare daily breads and fresh pastas. Should something not appeal to a guest, we are always happy to change dishes etc... when the guests give us the opportunity to do so.


We consider nothing to be trivial if it displeases our guests, and we take all complaints very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming staff members, room was comfortable and clean, we ordered a full English for breakfast which was served by polite waiting staff. Location was good ample parking WiFi was ok .... overall an enjoyable stay thank you

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews