We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$118
Expedia.comUS$118
Orbitz.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
eDreamsUS$118
CheapTicketsUS$118
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
139
183
99
53
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
139
183
99
53
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room western hotels coffee machine sat nav biscuits cooked breakfast gym university sky conservatory channels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

The room was lovely, nicely decorated, very clean, great size tv, massive bed! The shower was wonderful. I also like the way the corridors were decorated, and the staff were generally quite friendly. Bit of a downfall was that we had to pay £50 holding fee for the room. I was here on business so not expecting to pay anything as it was paid in advice, but obviously paid happily. I do understand the need for this policy, however I do not feel it is fair that we weren't told in advance, there was nothing in the email confirmation about it, so one of my colleagues didn't have a card with her! So we had pay for her! Bit irritating as now my account is short and from what I can tell on these reviews, I won't get it back for 28 days. As I said, I totally understand the policy, I just feel like the guests should be better informed before they stay. Restaurant was nicely decorated with a nice atmosphere, breakfast was ok. The rooms were the high point.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank sadsface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

I have been staying here for best part of a year and the thing that sets it apart from other places is the staff. Everyone is so helpful and attentive. Ashley and Myriam on reception are great. Rosita, Marta, Amina and Adam in the restaurant are so good. Even the staff in the kitchen are fantastic (Andrea). The rooms are good and the location is fantastic for access to the city centre. I have tried a number of hotels in Chelmsford but always stay here if I can. Oh, by the way the food in the restaurant is awesome, especially the seafood dishes.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cis0luti0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

The restaraunt staff are some of the nicest ive come accross and i travel for business weekly.
Great authentic food cooked to order by cheerful chefs who sing as they cook. Top manager too.
Very helpful and will go out of his way to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ali0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

My group has now stayed at this hotel four times in the last six years. On all occasions the staff have looked after us very well and have been very helpful and accommodating to our requests. I have just read a couple of negative reviews and I have to strongly disagree with the sentiments expressed. On average we have between 50 and 60 people staying and not one of them has ever complained. The majority of the staff are not English and many people regard it as being the better for that. The Manageress and the lady in charge of the restaurant are both outstanding and speak perfect English. The food and service were excellent as were the quality of the rooms. I can do nothing but recommend this property,

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElhamValleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Never again would I stay at this hotel. I'm not normally one to complain but this stay was awful. The staff speak very little English and are blunt and rude.
The room was dirty with the bathroom having hand marks all over the mirror which wiped off easily with a wipe. The showers are poor and very cheap.

But the worst part was to come when we sat down for breakfast. I've never in my life attempted to eat such poor quality food. I don't expect the best but it really wasn't edible. The sausages were that bad you need a steak knife to cut through them and quite frankly it was all awful.

On a plus side the best part about my stay was checking out and leaving the hotel as quick as possible.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mufcalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoSanta-Rita, General Manager at Best Western Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly, may I thank you for bringing the matters in your trip advisor review.

I am sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay were disappointing.

I understand that you have encountered hand marks on your mirror and found the showers of poor quality. If something is not right or up to the guest's satisfaction, we would welcome the feedback brought forward straight away, giving us an opportunity to put things right, move to another room or upgrade.

We offer an Italian experience in our Restaurant and we are proud in delivering authentic Italian theme, where my Chef's prepare daily breads and fresh pastas. Should something not appeal to a guest, we are always happy to change dishes etc... when the guests give us the opportunity to do so.


We consider nothing to be trivial if it displeases our guests, and we take all complaints very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews