We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Crystal Palace Sam's Karaoke Bar
Ranked #7 of 383 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Crystal Palace Sam’s Karaoke Bar in Chelmsford has recently been refurbished & updated Karaoke Rooms for Hire with Food & Karaoke & Disco @ £23pp / £30pp from 7pm till Midnight . Friday & Saturdays the Karaoke Rooms will be Closed @ 12 midnight BUT our Bar will remain open till 1am - After Midnight order your 1st Round of Drinks ( 1 time only ) @ Half Price with your Karaoke Room Name / Number .The main dining Room will also have Music / Disco till 1am . Sunday to Thursday we shut @ 11pm BUT if you have a Booking for over 15 People & you want to Extend Your Evening please ask for Sam when Booking in advance & maybe we can Extend your stay till 12 midnight . We specialise in Karaoke parties, whether it is a hen night, birthday or retirement and our private room can cater for all your needs. We Have 5 Karaoke Rooms for Hire with Karaoke & Food & Room Hire @ £23pp / £30pp from 7pm till Midnight . We also rent the Rooms out without food @ £5pp Per Hour .
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I visited with my good lady on impulse, we had seen the restaurant from the pub opposite and thought, let's give it a go.

The menu is standard Chinese and looked the same as any Chinese takeaway in town. There did not appear to be any "specials" or dish of the day.

We ordered a set meal for two, it seemed to have everything we liked. When it came, it was substantial! The starters alone were enough and then we had 4 main course with rice. Not bad for £17 each.

We also checked out the banquet menu, and this looked superb if you are a hungry boy. Basically all you can eat for around £18

The staff were great, service couldn't really be much better, all round a good meal, just a touch ordinary.

Thank lee1pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

254 - 258 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Food was hot and plentiful. I would say an average chinese meal, nothing outstanding and good value for money on a Sunday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Minimilk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We ordered food to be delivered. We live less than a mile away from this restaurant and, although it was delivered right on time, the majority of the food was cold, shockingly! Once this was warmed up in the microwave it was just 'ok', nothing special. Considering the other feedback I was really disappointed by the food and the lack of temperature. I might try it again, just to be certain it wasn't just a one off, but I'm not in any hurry especially since you have to pay £1 delivery charge and 50p card payment charge! There are better restaurants with more reasonable prices in chelmsford and, with this in mind, you really need to pick up your game to compete. One bad meal means you just lost a repeat customer!

Thank Millervanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny M, Manager at Crystal Palace Sam's Karaoke Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

We would like to apologise for your experience with us. We promise food never leave the restaurant cold. Please let us know next time as soon as possible so we can help resolve the problem.

We have a successful take away/delivery service so the timing of the delivery can vary so we glad your happy with the timing. However, we would like to remind other guests that we will always try and delivery within the hour, unless said otherwise. We assume you had order online as we do not charge for card payments. To avoid this, please make an order by telephone as we accept card payments over the phone. We hope you will give us a second chance. - K.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Last night was my third trip to this restaurant and I cannot fault it. Each of our visits were in the evening and we always ordered from the reasonably priced fixed price menu.The food is of the highest quality and there is no limit to the amount served. You order until you are full and the staff are both friendly and polite. The menu offers an excellent choice for both meat eaters and vegetarians. I can recommend this restaurant and do not know of a better one in Essex.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We called in at the Crystal Palace for their Sunday Buffet lunch. Food was great and as good as if not better than other restaurants in the area. A full menu is also available but all of your favourites will be there. The staff and owner could not do enough for us and were very welcoming. The restaurant has been fully refurbished as they have only been open a short while. They are geared up especially for any type of party and have a full selection of Karaoke systems, probably the best you could find. This can although all be done in their separate party room adjacent to the restaurant so it doesn't interfere with the normal restaurant running. They are generally making a lot of effort here and deserve to do well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MPOCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Palace Sam's Karaoke Bar also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex

Been to Crystal Palace Sam's Karaoke Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing