We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Me, my friends and the bride stayed here the night before my friends wedding. Was very impressed with the hotel, staff were friendly and rooms big modern and very clean.Beds really comfortable. Only moan is that the rooms dont have air con and it was really muggy night. Food was lovely and freshly cooked.
I am a hairdresser and had to do all the hair for the wedding which meant we had a late check out and did run over but no one said anything.
Would throughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent visit.
I'm pleased that you all had a great stay, liked the rooms and that they let you finish all the hair for the wedding without chasing you out of the room, I hope the day was a success.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel during the
Olympics and it was perfect. Ideally situated just off the A12, the hotel is very easy to find.
The rooms are fresh and look to have been recently refurbished, the bar menu is good and the breakfast was very good (which makes a refreshing change for a hotel buffet).
The hotel does appear to be the venue for a large amount of weddings, so its probably worth checking when you book.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieBoy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and the facilities on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area, hopefully before the Olympics returns!

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

A friend recommended this hotel to me and I can deffinately see why! I was welcomed when I checked in by a friendly member of staff and found the room to be just what I wanted. Everyone was very helpful and the staff seemed happy in their jobs. Breakfast was lovely and I had a brilliant experience over all. Would deffinately come back again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review and apologies for the delay in replying!
It is always a pleasure to hear that guests have been well looked after and we would be happy for you to come back whenever you are next looking for accommodation in the area.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just returned after a couple of days/nights and have to say was impressed - Rooms were clean and beds were comfy! Staff were great, especially with my two young boys and the chef cooked them something different off of the menu ..so they were happy! Would def stay here again!

Room Tip: Had a family room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwaysablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Best Western Ivy Hill.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel was terrible, the rooms are ok but nothing special, sure i got ripped of as the hotel was empty and still had to pay £130 per night. There is no air con in the rooms, I had to move rooms twice and had to have 3 fans in my room. Staff where exceptionally rude and unhelpful. I would never stay here again. Food was a disgrace!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

I was disappointed to read your review and as such have looked into the details of your time at Best Western Ivy Hill.
I don't like to challenge guests as I believe that the customer is king but on this occasion I feel it only fair that we have a right to reply to your comments which I feel to be unjust.
All of our rooms were refurbished recently to a very high standard, you were booked in to an upgraded executive room on a rate which included breakfast and this was not £130. On check out it was higher than originally quoted but this was due to a charge made for smoking in a non smoking room, despite the fact that you were advised that all rooms were non smoking and advised of the area where smoking is permitted.
None of the bedrooms at the hotel have air conditioning but we do not claim that they do, you were moved rooms once to an area of the hotel that gets less sun and as such was cooler and although each room has a fan additional were provided to make you more comfortable.
By moving your room, offering you additional fans, not to mention accommodating your meeting for 10 people in the lounge are,a the team at the hotel were as helpful as they could be in this situation and I'm sorry you felt otherwise.
I have spoken to the restaurant regarding the night of your visit and they have no record of you making any complaint about the food which I'm sure you would have at the time had it been "a disgrace" as you say.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here for business with a colleague. The boy on reception was polite but inefficient. The rooms are very nice but very hot. The staff in the bar are, well in my opinion awful. This hotel has so much potential but is let down by a lapsidasical team.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Best Western Ivy Hill, I will be speaking with the team and investigating the points you raised.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Have just stayed at this hotel with a group of eight work friends. During the period of a week we stayed at different hotels every night. This hotel stood out high above all the other hotels we stayed in. The rooms were lovely. The beds were sooooo comfy. Due to work commitments we had to leave early in the morning. Would like to say a big thanks to Aileen who arranged for breakfast timings to be brought forward and the the kitchen staff who came in early to accomadate our groups breakfast. All staff were so friendly. Would return to this hotel at the drop of a hat. well done keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

It was a pleasure to read your review following your recent stay at Best Western Ivy Hill. I will pass on your thanks to Aileen and the team who looked after you.

Thank you for your very positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area, for business or pleasure.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
4.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
433 reviews
3.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
450 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
751 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel

Address: Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England (Formerly Ivy Hill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#3 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing