We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a voucher from Travel Zoo for Afternoon Tea. When we arrived there was a lot of building work going on. We booked in and was told to pick a table near the reception area which had all blinds down because of the building work. As it was a lovely afternoon we asked if there was a garden or Terrace area we could sit in. We were shown to a very nice quiet garden area and a table laid up for us. We had a glass of prosecco on arrival followed by the best open sandwiches We have ever had with an Afternoon Tea. This was followed by delicious cakes, scones with clotted cream and strawberries dipped in chocolate ( lovely ) We had coffee as we do not drink tea. The only down side was on our refill of coffee our cups were taken inside to be refilled and then my husband was given mine with lipstick on. I think clean cups or bring a pot of coffee to the table. The young man who served us was very friendly. I must say it is the best afternoon tea that I have had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea.
The area near reception that you mention is actually our recently refurbished lounge and we are currently extending this area to incorporate a new restaurant.
I am pleased you enjoyed the experience and in the main were well looked after by the team, apologies about the issue with the cups, I will make sure that the staff are reminded of the correct procedures for serving additional drinks.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    127
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
103
103
8
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here to facilitate maximum enjoyment at a party that was being held on these premises. Location,room,food all very good had a nice feel about the place. The party was excellent and it wasn't very far to go to bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNABLETOFINDONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased you enjoyed the party and your accommodation.

We hope you will return next time you need somewhere to stay in the area.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel not so long ago and as there is only 'average' or 'very good', I have selected the former description as this is more appropriate. On arrival, apart from a friendly greeting, your credit card details are demanded in case of extra expenditure - surely this can be taken from the original booking rather than make this the first priority on arrival? If not, then I think there is a more courteous manner in which this can be asked. The room was airy, well decorated and clean, coffee making facilities were in evidence (including small snacks), however four miniature milk sachets is hardly enough for two people. Extra supplies were provided, but it still meant having to ask for them. Also, insufficient towels had been placed in the room and, again, a request had to be made to get some more. Again these were brought to the room, but really, we should not have had to ask. The bathroom, albeit fully equipped, left little room to manoeuvre. Also, it was a good job that we had taken all our own toiletries etc. The bar was a fairly comfortable place in which to have a drink, but it lacked atmosphere. The staff there were attentive. Breakfast provided many different options to suit all tastes. Even though we were down to breakfast early, the coffee was not really 'fresh' so it was fortunate that you could make your own by using a sachet and hot water. Breakfast was cooked fresh and the servings were more than sufficient. I did ask, but none of the breakfast juices were sugar free. The fresh fruit bowl looked rather sad. Plates were removed rather swiftly, making me wonder if they did not have sufficient space for all the guests staying. The staff made little attempt to communicate. On departure, the girl on reception was charming, I am pleased to say. So, as you can see, this stay was really only average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.
I sense from your tone that you were upset at the beginning of your stay by the request for a credit card authorisation, apologies if you feel that the manner in which it was asked for was wrong but the policy itself is universal at hotels throughout the world, and we ask to see a card rather than use one given before to help combat card fraud.
Again the amount of milk left in the room is also standard but extra can always be requested, as you found out.
Thank you for the other positive comments you made about the hotel and I do hope you would return when in the area again.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was an ideal hotel for the location and price. It served as a great place to stay whilst we were in the area for our friend's wedding at Hylands House just up the road. The room was large, clean and well equipped with all the necessities. The bed was comfortable and the shower was warm and powerful. Plenty of wardrobe space and in-room trouser press/iron made it all very convenient. The hotel apologised for some ongoing renovation works but you honestly would not have noticed (I certainly didn't). The breakfast was excellent too. Loads to choose from and nice dining area. Overall, very impressed with my first stay in a Best Western!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDavis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us.
We work hard to provide guests with the best possible experience and thought hard about this when the rooms were refurbished, it is always good to hear that it was worth the effort.

We do have some building works going on at the hotel but are working closely with the contractors to ensure that they do not impact on our guests. We hope you will come back again when the works are finished to see the improvements we have made.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived about 15 minutes early for our afternoon tea booked through Groupon.

We were pleased to note that there was a ramp at the front entrance which was helpful for my wife's wheelchair and at reception were met by a pleasant young lady who directed us through to the dining room.
A friendly waiter greeted us and invited us to choose a table from those available, no problem with being a bit early.

The tables were all laid up with tablecloths and we chose one next to a window with comfortable armchairs.

The waiter was very attentive and we were served with tea and coffee and the first part of the tea which was a very pleasant surprise as instead of the usual finger variety we were presented with three open-style sandwiches comprising egg mayonnaise, Parma ham with dressing and smoked salmon with cream cheese. Each one of these open sandwiches was delicious and a welcome departure from the run-of-the-mill fare usually served.

My wife's pot of tea was highly rated by her and my excellent coffee was regularly refreshed.

The rest of the tea arrived and consisted of fresh scones with butter and cream, fresh strawberries dipped in chocolate,and a selection of delicious cakes.

There was such a good selection that I had to help my wife finish hers!

Throughout the tea the waiter was helpful and professional.

We would be quite happy to pay the normal price for this afternoon tea and it was one of the best we have had

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review following your recent visit for Afternoon Tea.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and were well looked after by the team.
The open sandwiches have proved to be very popular, people seem to like the change from the usual finger sandwiches.

We do look forward to you returning again soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
4.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
3.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
449 reviews
2.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
350 reviews
8.0 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
934 reviews
8.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel

Property: Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Address: Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England (Formerly Ivy Hill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#3 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing