We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile



Probably a little overpriced & certainly is if you get one of the small rooms- the rooms on floor 2 are admittedly cosy.
Service is fine, breakfast perfectly ok.
I suppose it does what it says on the tin, for a 3-star hotel, but simply doesn't overwhelm, for the price.
Dirty cups, and the odd suspect hair scared me a bit when I settled into a new room, but I guess we aren't at The Ritz when all's said & done!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hearts5Hibs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    129
    79
    28
    24
See reviews for
60
92
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here one night to watch 20/20big bash cricket at Essex County Ground in Chelmsford. Well located for the cricket, only a 15/20 minute walk towards the city centre, where we found lots of restaurants and bars. The staff were very friendly, and our room was very large. On a hot night the air conditioning was welcome. A large ensuite with bath and shower. The water pressure in the shower was a bit hit and miss, the hotter the temp the less water. Best part of our stay was the cooked breakfast with locally sourced. Bacon, sausages and eggs, all very tasty.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32, very large, looking over road, 2nd room along the corridor, so could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Very Comfy beds, good food, cracking real ale, friendly and helpful staff, great location for train links to London, would recommend as one to stay at.

A very good located hotel with original period features, rooms are clean and modern.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank gb796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just a very quick review
Took my wife for afternoon tea and was very pleased with what we had to eat. Very basic but what do expect for only £12.50 each. 4 finger sandwiches with different fillings, then fruit tart , with two other tasty items then 2 scones with jam and cream. with a selections of teas and coffee as much as you want to drink. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed my short visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the outside this looks like a a series of houses joined together into one hotel and given the fact that it's surrounded by offices and shops you would be forgiven for thinking that this will be like one of those dodgy London hotels that sounds posh but isn't. But it's nothing of the sort. The hotel is very plush inside, nicely furnished with modern furniture and updated bathrooms. Yes the floorboards creek but hey it's an old building! Staff very friendly and helpful. Good selection of restaurant and bar food which is served very quickly and breakfast the next morning was most acceptable although it would have been nice if there had been a bit more fruit on offer. WIFI in the rooms which works and a very decent sized car park (It is also worth noting that both the WIFI and car parking is free - other up market hotels please note! ) In all a very good stay and I'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Only stayed for one night, 2 adults 4 children in two rooms. Both rooms were nice and clean. Ate in the restaurant as part of the deal which was very nice. Also a very good children's menu. Staff friendly and welcoming. Would give it 4.5 if possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biddy1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a DB&B package in a suite for only £140 - great size, good facilities and nice touches - staff very pleasant. Excellent selection of wine by the glass and of good quality. Breakfast very nice but dinner not very good (although cheese course was excellent and my pork was okay) but service excellent (we were the only ones in the restaurant). Good value and worth trying again to see if the starters and main courses improve.."...............

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
2.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 13 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 29 Rainsford Road, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 50 luxury rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing