We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms ... good wifi ... nice food.”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 December 2009

This hotel is ideally located in Chelmsford centre. The rooms are very nice and all seem to have good FREE wifi access. The food in the bar was very very good. Staff were Ok but never over the top when it came to customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2009

We cannot say enough good things about the wait staff in the restaurant. A special thanks goes out to Rachel, Nikki and Luke. They were all extremely friendly, professional, quick to serve and the food was great too ! Rachel went out of her way to give us suggestions for sightseeing in the area and her service was way above and beyond the expected, The room was also quite nice...gave us the old "country inn" feel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

A nice hotel spoiled by a completely inflexible reception policy. We were attending a local wedding at 1pm and had requested an early check-in (so we could get changed after a long drive). The snotty tone of that call should have prepared me. On the day we arrived at 11.30 and and the conversation went:

Me: "Good morning, we've got a reservation for....
Receptionist [abruptly]: "Check-in's at 2"

And that was that, no phone call to housekeeping, no offer to use an unprepared room, nothing. We had to get changed in the first floor toilets. Deeply unimpressive in this day and age.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darbyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The County may look a little traditional from the outside, but the rooms have been recently refurbished and are very well equipped, clean and comfortable. There are superb original photographs all around the building, which set the County apart from the uniformity of chain-hotels. The breakfast was excellent and the bar even had a choice of real ales! But the biggest plus has to be the staff - from the night porter, to the waitresses, to the reception staff, every one I encountered was friendly, polite, helpful and efficient. This certainly helped ease the stress of this rather reluctant business traveller!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My small double room was newly modernised and had an equally small bathroom. The plasma tv had lots of channels, and free wi-fi was available (Holiday Inns please note !).
Across the road there are lots of pubs, restaurants and takeaways, plus the town centre shops if you get there early.
The hotel has a large free car park and breakfast at £12 was above average in both cost and price.
If I had a grumble it would be about the hard uncomfortable pillows and hard mattress, but overall my deal with Laterooms at £77 bed and breakfast was fair.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

returned today from a one night stay at the County..found the hotel to be very nice our room was nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, had windows that actually open.we had a bath and shower which was clean. plenty of tea and coffee also toiletries. very clean white towels. my only complaint was the mugs provided, these were dirty and i went out and bought our own to use. hotel is close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.5 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
521 reviews
5.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 29 Rainsford Road | Essex, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 50 luxury rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing