We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A model Premier Inn. Great check in, clean room with good TV & a bath. Good food, cheerfully served. Good parking. If only they were all like this one

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatCockneyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    197
    95
    35
    21
See reviews for
184
170
36
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Second time we have stayed here, Staff and accomodation were a credit to the Premier inn brand, extremally comfortable, quiet, despite being in sevice area and a good breakfast, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taibhreamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just returned from a night at the Premier Inn Chelmsford for a wedding at Boreham Hall nearby.

The room was as you would expect for a Premier Inn, the room was large and clean, with good quality fixtures and fittings. Equally the bar/ restuarant downstairs was more then adequate for what we needed.

The staff were excellent. We became stuck in the recent snow storm that hit Essex and the reception staff were fantastic at arranging snow shovels and making sure we were all warm. Couldn't recommend them more.

Room Tip: Ask to be put on the side of the hotel which doesn't look out onto the service station car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

For a business trip, the hotel was a good choice - convenient for Chelmsford (I used the Park + Ride) and within the budget. The staff were welcoming and efficient, the room was comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laisheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stronlgy recommend a stay at this Premier Inn. Warm friendly staff to greet you and make your stay as comfortable as possible. Spotlessly clean bright room & En Suite. All mod cons to accomodate your stay in every room. Crisp white duvet & plenty of pillows. Heating set at ambient temperature which you have control over to your desired requirement. Great lighting and wifi in every room (1/2 hour free!) Breakfast was to die for - full continental range & Full English too! Range of juices, milk-skimmed - semi- full fat- everyone catered for! Newly refurbished and I recommend 100% to everyone. Environmentaly friendly too and have a good policy for lone femal travellers, never to place on ground floor which I feel is very thoughtful. Well Done Lenny Henry for putting your name to Premier \inn's - its a winner with me!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilySorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have stayed at this Premier on several occasions over the years as it is very conveniently located for visiting family members in the area. It is close to the junction with the A12, and there is another Premier Inn at Boreham, which is literally just on the other side of the junction, in case there is no room at Springfield. Although we have never had to use this one, being always able to get a room.

On a previous visit, we had a room in the new extension, which we found to be very hot. So this time we asked for a room in the old part of the hotel, this request was promptly complied with. The room that we had was great and seemed to have been refurbished fairly recently. The Premier Inns are all pretty standardised so you always know what you will get. There was no traffic noise, and an HGV that was parked outside left without us noticing the engine starting up.

We had not pre booked breakfast but ended up having the continental - there was plenty of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, muffins, juice and hot drinks, all laid out for you to help yourself. I have previously had the cooked breakfast, which has always been excellent.

Unfortunately we paid the full rate for the room as our visit could not be booked far enough in advance for the saver rate to apply.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new extension at the front can be too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and would definitely stay again. The room was spotlessly clean and staff were friendly and very helpful. The cooked breakfast was really good and the breakfast waitress was lovely. We had room 207 which was very quiet with no traffic noise at all. We had the Premier Saver rate so excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I guess just ask for a quiet room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
2.7 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 12 in Chelmsford
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
351 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing