We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here last Thursday, service of dinner was slow as the restaurant was busy. The duty manager Alex stepped in and dealt with our concerns. He was exceptionally good and a credit to his employers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    195
    93
    33
    20
See reviews for
180
157
36
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
344 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had to stay at the hotel because we were attending a wedding at a nearby venue and that was basically the only hotel available. The place has plenty of parking spaces (owing to the fact it is on a services area) and look clean. Room 101 (Yes you heard it right) was clean, had all basic ammenities, including a basic hair drier and the bed was comfortable enough. The room also had a kind of sofa, which I presume is for a third person, but trust me you wouldn't want to sleep on that because those springs would drive you mad all night.

THe bathroom is well appointed. The main thing that was lacking was air conditionning. You can barely open the windows and so the room can get stuffy. There is only an heater but you can't get cold air.

We had the breakfast and that was nice enough. Bacon a bit tough but the sausages were nice as were the eggs. Nice selection of other stuff (including nice pastries) for a very reasonable price.

The staff are very very nice and welcoming. The person who checked us in explained everything well; at one stage we needed an iron and ironing board and this was provided immediately at no additional cost.

So, if you need to stay on your way to somewhere this is a good enough hotel to stay. If you fancy visiting Chelmsford (in case you ever thought this may be a tourist destination for you) then the hotel is about 10 minutes' drive from the centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed at Springfield premier inn, on many many occasions now. It is close to where our relatives live, hence the location is suitable for our needs. We've in the past always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and although basic meet all of our requirements. The beds are comfortable and the bed linen clean. The breakfast is at additional cost, but there is ample choice, in an appealing restaurant. The food is hot, tasty and unlimited as are the drinks and the waiting staff are friendly and helpful.
Although sadly on our last visit our experience wasn't as good. It's fair to say that as Premier inns represent good value for money. They are clearly used by a variety of people, for a multitude of reasons. Including young people on nights out etc, returning having had a few too many. We appreciate that this to some degree is unavoidable. Premier inn advertise quiet zones. However, having stayed on the Friday night, we opened our door on the Saturday morning to find that someone had vomited just outside, which we then had to step over. On the Saturday it was incredibly noisy. The people above us sounded as though they were moving furniture around all night. My father was also with us, who is not in the best of health and this noise disturbed him too.
When my husband went to complain, we were told that this was unavoidable and unfortunate. Admittedly, it is. We were not looking to be compensated and also heard other customers complaining. But we did feel disappointed with the response. Bearing mind that we use Premier inns regularly and have returned time and time again to this particular premier inn, on this occasion we left feeling disappointed and under valued as a customer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

An honest review about the premier inn at Springfield (Chelmsford) Firstly my company paid for me to stay there for a few days whilst I was on a course. I wasn't expecting much prior to arrival but I must say It was a pleasure to meet such friendly and helpful staff, the rooms are basic but contain everything you need and above all they're clean. During breakfast and dinner there was always a positive friendly atmosphere. I have to give a mention to Annabel who catered for my very fussy dietary requirements. I would recommend this place for courses or you're planning to visit Chelmsford.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed one night, but from the moment we arrived (which was just after midnight) the man on the desk (Derek) was extremely friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy, best nights sleep I've had in ages. And the young people in the restaurant in the morning were attentive enough without being a nuisance and were very friendly an polite. Altogether a dive star experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlykaz1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Berkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great value hotel very friendly helpful staff. Rooms are well equipped bright and very comfortable. Bathroom very clean and have a good quality shower. Breakfast is good value. Second time of staying here and will book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburyposse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Would recommend friendly staff, nice clean rooms , close to McDonalds , garage, cafe . Location is about 10 mins to town in a taxi , good reception 24hrs
Would use again . Rooms comfortable & clean :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelaniePearce2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
2.7 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing