We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As you would expect...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“As you would expect...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A welcoming reception lady and a well presented clean room with the exception of the bathroom...

As a blonde notable long dark hair on the shower walls is always a bit grim.

The real fall down was the restaurant... the kitchen service needs a serious rethink as we were waiting for food for over 45minutes and our food arrived over a 30minute interval so some of the party had finished before others had food. Servings were inconsistent in terms of sides and requests to not have some items were not given any consideration. The waiting staff were young and lacked support to manage disgruntled, waiting, hungry guests. The volume of potentially eating guests should not be too much of a surprise as they know how many rooms are booked and the lack of other options immediately available.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexNW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    191
    90
    32
    20
See reviews for
176
152
36
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were in Chelmsford for a wedding so we chose to stay 3 nights at the Premier Inn based on location etc On arrival the reception staff were very friendly. We were immediately shown to our family room and within 5 minutes we were all drooling over the menu. The beds were very comfy, breakfast was terrific and the coffee? Well me being the cappuccino/Americano queen the coffee machine was just terrific. I cannot tell you how many times I refilled my cup and this made for a great start to each day. In the evenings we sat at the bar, the service was always very friendly and the food at the restaurant the first night was super tasty. Needless to say we had a brilliant time at the wedding and really looked forward to having a restful sleep on our return. All the staff we encountered from the restaurant, bar, housekeeping and reception were just lovely and always very happy to help. Oh yes excellent value for money too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

On reccomendation, I dropped in for breakfast. The "eat as much as you like" menu was excellent, and having eaten as much as I could manage, and several coffees too, I can honestly say that the quality of cooking, presentation and service, exceeded excellent, to outstanding. Everyone was polite and courteous, and their attention to detail was impressive. The background music, whilst not to my liking, was unobtrusive, and the care with which they handled their customer base, made for a very pleasing experience. 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason19814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had business in Chelmsford so stayed there for a couple of nights as we got a good rate. It's a Premier Inn so you know what you're getting. It's about 10-15 minutes from the town centre so bear this in mind if your not travelling by car. Check in went t well. Room OK. Night spoiled by some drunk banging on next door professing his undying love for "Emma". Hadn't planned on eating breakfast but we were up early and went to the cafe. Staff seemed very friendly and the meal was freshly cooked. Decided to pay by credit card and as we entered our details into the machine the waitress told us we had the option of adding a gratuity We declined.. Being from London this is almost standard practice in many eateries but it's never something we've experienced in the many hotels, budget and otherwise, visited throughout the UK. in truth it was quite embarrassing. Have to wonder whether the prospect of a tip was behind the staff's friendliness. Probably stay somewhere else on next visit to Chelmsford.

Room Tip: Pay cash for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just what we needed for a one night stopover. Family of three- comfortable and clean room.
We had both dinner and breakfast and both were quick to arrive, plentiful, piping hot and good value.
Staff were friendly but not intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaMather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington Northumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights, my husband , daughter, son in law and grandson. We were all very impressed with hotel cleanliness, attitude of all the staff and the quality of food, both Breakfast and Dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great value, really lovely staff who made us feel very welcome throughout. Great food in the restaurant, reasonably priced, good selection. Bed is to hard for my liking though. And room needs air conditioning during this hot weather!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldkojak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chelmsford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing