We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”

Aarandale Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelmsford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aarandale Guest House
Ranked #12 of 19 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This place is shocking. The foreign woman is very rude and arrogant she can barely even talk english, so communication is hard. The bedsit stinks of dogs and has an old musty smell. The rooms they class as double are just 2 single beds pushed together. The tv is tiny and a big back off one with bad signal and no wifi connection available. Bit of a joke really.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essexhotelier, Manager at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

We aim to respond positively to all objective reviews which we do not consider this to be,
The partner of the reviewer had booked the room as a twin room with single beds and in the knowledge that we do not provide breakfast. The reviewers partner acknowledged this, however the reviewers nose seemed out of joint and this seems reflected in the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and it wasn't too bad, could have been a bit cleaner. The landlady was nice and friendly. The only big issue was it's meant to be a B+B but it should be called B. Does bot do breakfast at all. You can't call a place a B+B and have not even have a choice of a breakfast. Ok for 1 night

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thfc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essexman2009, Owner at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

All guests are informed before they book a room that Aarandale Guest House only provides accommodation and our prices are set to reflect this. This approach suits most of our guests who are looking for good value clean and comfortable accommodation and are happy to make their own breakfast arrangements if they require it. All rooms at Aarandale Guest House have tea and coffee making facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I would highly recommend avoiding this B&B - they cancel your bookings if they get a 'better' one (longer stay or whatever). I booked to stay at one point this year and if I hadn't emailed for a written confirmation, goodness knows whether I'd have been told that they'd decided they had "building work" going on. Speaking to another local they often do this to many people - the excuse being building work.
Shame that people like this are bringing the world of B&Bs down.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
6  Thank LakesWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essexman2009, Owner at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Aarandale Guest House does not cancel confirmed bookings as implied by this guest whose own booking was not cancelled. As Aarandale Guest House does not take credit cards we will ask guests who appear uncertain as to whether they wish to make a definitive booking to confirm their booking in the week prior to their arrival. When we do not hear from the prospective guest we always use the contact information they have provided to seek confirmation that they wish to maintain a booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My family--husband, daughter, and I--stayed at Aarandale and found it to be relaxing and cozy. Our hosts were super-helpful, and we felt absolutely free to come and go as we pleased. We would definitely stay here again as the location is easy and yet quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I stayed at this B&B for a week after viewing on the internet and was somewhat disappointed as it did not live up to expectations. It appears that there has been a change of ownership since the website was first prepared and the property has lost it original 3* status. It has been allowed to deteriorate and although comfortable and clean enough it gave an air of neglect. My single ensuite room was adequate but rather old fashioned and cowebs were to be found everywhere. The garden also appeared neglected compared to the pictures on the website.The room however was attended to each day,the bed made and the instant coffee, tea and bisquits replenished.

The small portable colour tv was adequate but unlike several B&B's I have stayed in recently lacked a choice of satellite channels.

The reviews posted on the website are obviously old and relate to the previous owners.

The breakfast was neither a "Full English" nor what one might call "Continental". A selection of cereals was available and just orange juice. I was only ever offered a boiled egg or scrambled egg together with toast as the main event but a fresh pot of coffee or tea was provided. Certainly with the exception of one other B&B, it has to be the poorest breakfast that I have been offered in the UK. Very disappointing.

On the plus side the lady owner was extremely engaging, helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsfordproprietor, Proprietor at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2009

We would wish to respond to the above review: Aarandale Guest House is under the same ownership as it has been for the last 10 years and we continue to provide comfortable, clean and affordable quality accommodation. The gardens are maintained even in the autumn when this guest stayed, a few leaves on the lawn is to be expected at this time of year).
All guests are invited to sign our guest book and the guest comments displayed on our website are typical of those we continue to receive verbally and in writing in our guest book.
We provide a continental breakfast that compares favourably with other guest houses and we always seek to accommodate any special breakfast requests of our guests.
The room in which the reviewer stayed has had a full spring clean to ensure it continues to fully meet quality standards.

We look forward to continuing to welcoming guests who appreciate a warm and friendly welcome and clean and comfortable accommodation..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 11 in Chelmsford
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
3.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarandale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarandale Guest House

Address: 9 Roxwell Road, Chelmsford CM1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range: £25 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Chelmsford quality guest house accommodation close to Chelmsford town centre. An ideal location for a short break or touring holiday in Essex. We look forward to providing you with a warm and friendly welcome at Aarandale Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aarandale Guest House Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing