We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S**thole Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oakland Hotel Ltd
Ranked #11 of 19 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Please Please avoid this place
The music shakes the whole hotel belive me it is not just some noise its like sleeping in a night club. The staff are very rude and unprofessional that is before we get down to the fact that the room is dirty uncempt and has not been up dated since the 1960s. If you want to take a baby please do not exoect a cot even if you have paid extra for a bigger room. We actually had to leave the hotel after just 2 hours but obviously they refuse any refund. You would be better off sleeping in you car which is what we did.

Room Tip: Go to a diffrent hotel or sleep in the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Bradchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklandhotel, Owner at The Oakland Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We regret that you felt it was necessary to leave a review on this website as we have been in communication with you and Booking.com about your stay with us. It clearly states on the Booking.com website that we have music until 2.00 a.m. at the weekend. The website also advises that we have cots available - free of charge with bedding - and this would have been put in your room prior to your arrival, if it had been requested on the booking form. Our member of staff was most upset to be called rude as she did her best to help during a busy evening. Although she was aware that the travel cots had already been allocated to other rooms, she did check the Housekeeping Room for a spare cot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a couple of months for a friends party on a Saturday night. We were aware of the nightclub so requested quiet rooms at the time of booking. Check in on the Saturday was fine. Very impressed with the bar prices. Room was bright and clean. Bed was very comfortable. On arrival back from the party the nightclub was winding down anyway but once in the room heard nothing. Breakfast was a full English served at the table which is so much better than helping yourself. All in all we have no complaints.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Philippaspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Check efficient, staff helpful and room acceptable. Tv ok wifi not bad, plenty of choice for eve meal a few steps from pub/hotel. Fish chips, chinese pizza or curry. Slept okay not perfect. Too much noise next to room from pub extractors blast too late as have to work normal hours

Room Tip: Ear plugs are a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelchap101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Turned up at 8pm wanting to get straight to bed as my boyfriend and I had to be up at 5am so he could compete in a very important and strenuous half iron man race nearby.
It took 30 minutes to get someone to give us a key for the room we had pre booked despite going to the bar TWICE to ask for help.
The room was directly above the bar and mind numbingly loud music. I went down stairs at one point to go and buy us some headphones from asda and realised the music was somehow amplified in our room as it was no louder downstairs.
The room vibrated with base guitar throughout the night until 2am, when we finally managed to drift off to sleep. Not for long though, as at 3am we were woken up by a loud banging on our door. I went to see what the problem was to find a tremendously drunk man asking me for a pen.
went bake to bed for an hour and a half before getting up to head to the race.
feeling very tired, around lunchtime i received a phone call from a lady at the hotel asking why we had not booked out at 11. I had to explain to her that we booked the room for another night upon arrival. She then told me we had only paid for one room and said she was going to take another payment of £60 off my card using the details she had. We had in fact paid for both nights, the staff had not documented it properly and if I had not insisted she waited for us to return and sort it out properly we would have ended up paying for three nights!
we were never told what time breakfast was, meaning the following morning we missed it again, turning up at 9:15am (they stop serving breakfast at 9am!!) neither were we told where breakfast is held.
Stains on one of the duvet covers. 3 parking spaces for customers. no lift.
Yes it is a relatively cheap place to stay but £120 is still £120 and you would expect a little better. I have stayed in much nicer and friendlier places for less.
This hotel's 1 saving grace is the location, its in very close perimeters of some lovely shops and restaurant's and

Room Tip: Top floor, as far away from the bar as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaklandhotel, Owner at The Oakland Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I have looked into the background of this booking and found that you booked this room on-line via Laterooms.com on 5th June for a 7th June arrival. The website does warn Guests about our Nightclub with music until 2.00 a.m. on Friday and Saturday nights and advises that where possible quiet rooms are allocated. Due to the lateness of your booking and the fact we are a very busy Hotel the only room available for your stay with us was on the first floor above the Nightclub.

I do apologise for the fact that our Staff did not attend to you sooner, unfortunately the delay in checking you in was due to a staff shortage. This was the reason why incorrect handover notes were left for the Receptionist on Sunday morning and this is why she was unaware you had booked and paid for a second night. I do wonder why you booked a second night if you were so unhappy with the Hotel?

As regards breakfast times these are clearly stated in the Hotel Information Folder which is on the dressing table in each Guest bedroom.

I am sorry you found your stay with us fell below expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here very basic. Parking only for 4/5 cars barering in mind it is for a 36 bed hotel. Staff seem ok. Room- bed hard as nails and can not sleep in the bed as I need some padding so I'm sleeping on the bed. Tv is tiny. Room is situated on the top floor room 34 it is quite and is the best thing. No lift. Not sure where we are to eat breakfast. Conference room has health and safety issues and Stair well a little smelly. I can recommend the pub the town crier good food and only across the road.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank karenbritish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked a Saturday night stay for a wedding reception locally. As we didn't return till late (and after a few drinks) the noise from the bar wasn't a problem for us but be warned that it can get noisy.
The room itself was spacious and clean. It had the normal facilities with free view TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee facilities. Shower over a bath but the temperature was a little tricky to get right.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was freshly cooked full English and very nice too.
There is limited parking at the rear of the hotel through a narrow passageway.
Food can be found nearby at the "Town Crier" and is reasonable pub food.There are lots of other restaurants in town and an Asda nearby.
Couldn't connect to their wi-fi though had a signal but not concerned enough to go and ask for a new password.
There is no lift and the rooms are all upstairs so bring light luggage!
Overall this is a no-frills hotel but decent value for money. Just beware the stairs and the noise at weekends.

Room Tip: There is a lot of noise from the bar at weekends, ask for rooms at the back and the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We needed a hotel for our band to stay over after a gig in Hockley - we pre-booked this and didn't really know what to expect with only 2 stars (probably because there is a noisy nightclub downstairs at weekend but this didnt bother us as we never got in until the club was almost closing)- what we found was a very clean, quite well-presented hotel with comfy beds, tea & coffee, TV, Hair dryer, staff always available and an excellent breakfast bar the next morning with a full english available which was very good. What a surprise for only 2 stars!!! will definitely stay there again. What do you want for your money?

Room Tip: first floor rooms are to be avoided on saturdays because of the club noise from downstairs - these w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#9 of 10 in Chelmsford
526 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 10 in Chelmsford
386 reviews
9.3 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Chelmsford
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
434 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
193 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakland Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakland Hotel Ltd

Address: 2-6 Reeves Way | South Woodham Ferrers, Chelmsford CM3 5XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range: £59 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakland Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned hotel with 36 ensuite bedrooms including a Bridal Suite with 4 poster bed & spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Oakland Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakland Hotel Chelmsford
The Oakland Hotel Ltd Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing