We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Channels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Channels Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at Channels for business. Lovely room in the old Lodge, very clean and comfortable. Great value for money and very good breakfast. Will definitely stay there again when on business in Chelmsford.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Although this very kind review cites business as a reason to stay at Channels Lodge I venture to suggest that pleasure should be no less of an incentive. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    48
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
149
14
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very pleasant stay, nice and comfortable rooms, very friendly staff and a good meal and service received in the restaurant. I am a regular guest here as it is in a great location with easy access and a gem of a find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We have always endeavoured to maintain a high standard at Channels Lodge so it is all the more encouraging when this is recognised by a regular visitor who has taken the trouble to write such a generous review. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had our son's wedding at Channels 24th May 2014 and booked 6 rooms at the Lodge and Courtyard. Every room was excellent, comfortable beds, well equiped with all you need and very peaceful. A great nights sleep after an excellent day. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Really good breakfast and again very attentive staff. The whole Channels experience was an excellent one. We would definately stay again and happily recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms very spacious with great bathrooms and great views. Lodge rooms are traditional with beams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Describing a recent stay at the Lodge as the 'Channels experience' it was
gratifying to read that it was one which the reviewer wished to repeat and indeed
to recommend to both family and friends. These kind remarks are very much
appreciate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My first stay at Channels Lodge and it was very welcoming and friendly. A lovely old building with character rooms The restaurant at the next door golf club was excellent. I would happily recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your first stay with us and your kind recommendation leads me to hope that we may soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Channels Lodge. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have to say this is one of the best hotels in Essex I have ever stayed in and I wonder why I hadn't come here before. It has all the traditional feel about it and the staff couldn't have treated me better. It was so nice and peaceful to sit out or wander round the grounds. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Essex boasts a number of very good hotels so to be counted high among them is praise indeed. It was no less encouraging to read what our guest had to say about the Channels team playing as they do an essential part in the service we have to offer. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I booked a night at the Lodge as a cheeky get away, we don't live far away but it was a good excuse to have sometime together. Our room was a great size, very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. The lodge has a very cosy feel about it and the convenience of dinner at the golf club was a real plus - no waiting for cabs :) We will definitely be back - thank you so much Channels Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggestFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your very gracious review. It is always gratifying when people who live nearby choose the Lodge as a place to 'get away'. We look forward to your return. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our second stay at Channels Lodge and again the hotel and it's staff lived up to our expectations. Set in an idyllic location, we stayed in the Oak Suite, which has views over the golf course, an enormous comfy bed and a very glamorous bathroom. After drinks on the sunny golf club terrace, we enjoyed a delicious dinner served by friendly staff. It was a lovely "get away from it all" break, in a tranquil setting, with the advantage of being so close to Chelmsford.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are always happy to see our guests return and we are particularly pleased when they write to say that they enjoyed their second stay as much as their first. It is said that first impressions count but at Channels we believe that every visit is important. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
2.9 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
454 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
365 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channels Lodge

Property: Channels Lodge
Address: Belsteads Farm Lane | Little Waltham, Chelmsford CM3 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channels Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channels Lodge is one of the finest Hotels in Chelmsford, surrounded by the golf course, this beautifully converted 15th Century Tudor house is an ideal place for a business traveller to stay or wedding hotel near Chelmsford city centre. The hotel has 17 spacious guest rooms which have been individually designed and equipped to the highest standards combining the finest of the old with the finest of the new. Each room is decorated stylishly, some in mind for business man and business women and others designed in consideration for romantic breaks. There are two restaurants within the grounds of Channels both are renowned for their excellent food and friendly service. Bar snacks can also be purchased from the Club House. The hotel is situated close to the A12 between Chelmsford (2 miles) and Colchester (25 miles) and with Stansted Airport only 20 minutes away, makes Channels Lodge in the heart of the Essex countryside, a perfect location for both business and pleasure. Free parking when traveling to and from Stansted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Channels Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channels Hotel Chelmsford
Channels Lodge Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing