We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price we paid.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saracens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
1 review
“Good for the price we paid.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Okay, stayed for a couple of days and have to admit the room wasn't the best, but I wasn't expecting the best. Was hot and stuffy, but other than that ok. Would not recommend hotel for long stays.

However, the staff did make up for the average/poor room. Helpful people, who actually gave their time for you.

Ate in restaurant on both days and must say the food was superb, far exceeding my expectations. A bit dark though in the restaurant. Service was quick and caring, deserving tips.

Overall, would not recommend to those looking for a long term stay, as room was poor, but okay for a couple of nights. Staff and restaurant made up for this however, and the location is actually very.convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    21
    35
    93
See reviews for
20
30
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

I stayed at the Saracens Head with my husband as we had attended a christening reception in the bar earlier that day. We chose the hotel because of its central location which is a big plus but probably the only plus side to this hotel!

The room looked like it hadn't been decorated for over 15 years. Whilst there were cups, saucers etc there was no kettle so I dont know how we were supposed to make a cup of tea?? The TV had no remote and no ITV. There was rubbish in one of the drawers when I opened it. The duvet cover was ripped and the pillows flat as pancakes. The heating wasnt working so the room was like an ice box. When we commented to reception they acknowledged that "yes it was freezing wasnt it?" and gave us a portable heater! The rads were hot in the hallway so I had suspicions that the heating was broken in our room and hadn't been fixed for sometime.

We couldn't wait to go out for dinner that evening as we didnt want to stay in the room a minute longer than we had to.

The breakfast was good the next day although that was an extra cost. The service was overall good but I think for £55 this hotel should have offered a much better experience. The irony to add to this tale of woe is that we were told this was a better room!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Rooms reflect price, not that bad if you just need somewhere to get your head down after a night on the town. But if your using it for business like ive had to for the last few months, they cant quiet grasp what days i'm booked in for even though its been weeks in advance, and seem to regularly double book rooms out. But not only that, i work nights and sleep in the day (even though its been like this for over 5 weeks now), hence i dont want to be woken at 11:30am after 3 hours sleep to be told i 'HAVE TO' move to another room....which is next door and is identical?????? Why not just give next door to someone else????!?!? Or how about a bit of notice seeing as i walk past reception at least 3 times a day and say hello!!!! Management here couldn't give a damn about you, the cleaners have a better attitude than the people running things, if not for them saracens head should be renamed saracens '@rse'.....or maybe saracens elbow, because they cant tell there @rse from there elbow!!!!!!!!! Right back to sleep now....unless i get a knock on the door asking me to move 6ft to the left???!! Oh and as other people stated, music is loud from 5:30pm on friday so don't expect an afternoon rest.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrportski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed on 3 occasions in June 2010 in single room or small double for single use. The very central location and cheap rates were very attractive but there are issues prospective guests should be aware of. Most of the rooms do not have opening windows. They are painted shut. I was told there are a single and a double with no windows at all. This was not a severe problem when the weather was cool but in hot weather, which I experienced, the condition in the rooms was near intolerable. Even with a fan on it was like a sauna or steam bath. The single room had a dripping shower that could be heard all night and also in the adjoining room. The staff appeared well aware of this problem but over a period of several weeks it had still not been fixed. The English breakfast was very substantial but was served in a dark bar with pop music playing. No lift, lots of stairs and so not suitable if you have a lot of heavy luggage. However, the staff interfacing with guests could be obliging particularly the room staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed in an executive room last weekend lovely big room. Very Clean. Amazing Breakfast!! Friend stayed in a small budget room for £30 which was small but great for only £30.00 Girls on Reception were very helpful too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex girl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Stayed at the Saracens Head Hotel as a family member was marrying at the Town Hall opposite. Great location, but there is loud music playing in the bar downstairs until the early hours of the morning, no double glazing and our rooms were directly over the bar. As it was hot, there was no choice but to keep the windows open, so one way or another we couldn't sleep. Once the music stops, you get the noise from the revellers, then when they have finished the road sweepers start! Decor is tired and in need of updating. The shower in my son's room did not work. Apparently the rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter. Save your money, and stay at a Premier Inn out of town - the convenient location does not make up for lack of sleep!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubajo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

I visited the Saracen's for lunch last weekend, the weather was glorious and pleasingly they had their outside furniture out so we could sit in the sun!

The restaurant was fairly busy but the service was friendly and the food came out really quickly. We had our 2 children with us, aged 7 and 2, and they were very accommodating towards them, even giving them some colouring pencils and drawings to keep them occupied.

Very happy with our lunch, will definately go back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
2.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Property: Saracens Head Hotel
Address: 3 High Street, Chelmsford CM1 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saracens Head Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing