We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping site - brill especially site warded Ann”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Camping site - brill especially site warded Ann”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We normally visit the orchards and stay in a static caravan

As we now have a school aged child prices too expensive during school holidays so we decided to buy a touring caravan

This was our 1st visit to the orchards touring park after hearing mixed reviews

The site was very clean and the site warded Ann is just fab, knows everybody and is a font of knowledge

Facilities are very good

Booked to return in august c

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi MandyC

Thank you for reviewing your recent touring holiday with us.

I am really pleased to hear that you regularly visit us at The Orchards and that your first experience of touring with us was an enjoyable one.

Ann is very happy with your kind comments and would like to thank you for these.

We look forward to welcoming you back in August and hope the sun is shining for you.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    198
    123
    56
    55
See reviews for
439
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We took our grandson there for a long weekend and he loved it
The staff were helpfull and friendly I took the chance to do some fishing and I'm glad I did I had mirror carp to 18lb tench to5lb and lost two other big carp at the net all in all a great break

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernernern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Ernernern

Thank you for reviewing your recent holiday with us.

Its really good to hear that you had a wonderful time, especially your Grandson. I am pleased to hear that you found the team friendly and helpful. We are here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!!

I hope you managed to have a relaxing time whilst fishing. Well done on the mirror carp!!

We do hope you will look to holiday with us again in the near future and if you would like any prices, please feel free to contact us on 01255 820651.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a great long weekend camping at the Orchards. Check in was easy and Ann who checked us in and who was lovely, walked us round the available pitches so we could choose where we wanted to pitch up. We had electric hook-up and were nice and close to the shower/toilet block which is essential with two little girls, aged 6 and 10! The showers and toilets were always very clean and warm, with plenty of toilets, showers, and even a family shower room - brilliant! They also had hairdryers. The only negative with the facilities was that the hot water was VERY hot so watch out with children. This was also true of the washing-up facilities. The actual holiday park is vast, but there are some lovely walks to the beach. There is a chinese take-away which we enjoyed, and the Papa Johns Pizza place will deliver to your tent/caravan. The evening entertainment is as you would expect from Havens, and the girls loved the character shows and meeting the characters. The shop is well-stocked for food/drink/essentials you may need. We had dinner one evening and a character breakfast at the Mash & Barrel restaurant which were lovely although a bit pricey. We ventured into Clacton one of the days and went to the amusements on the seafront. These were pretty good but the rides were expensive as you would expect on any Seaside amusements. There is loads to do on site though included within your entertainment passes. The pools are lovely, both indoor and outdoor, although we were really lucky with the weather and would imagine the indoor pool would be packed ordinarily. There are also plenty of play areas for the children all around the site.
On some previous reviews people have spoken about noise etc on the site. The security team are great and regularly patrol all around the site. We had some noise disturbance one evening which turned out to be from a private house outside the park and some youngsters were having a house party. The security checked it out, but not much they could do as off site. All was quiet by 12:30 anyway. Apart from this, where we were in the touring area was clean and nice and quiet. It felt safe, the children loved it and we all had a wonderful 4 days. We will definitely book to go there again.

Room Tip: Touring area nice, clean and quiet. Facilities really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasJoyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi JasJoyx,

Thank you for taking the time to leave an amazing review regarding your recent Touring holiday with us. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Ann is amazing and works very hard maintaining the Touring field and the facilities and I am pleased you feel the same. I have noted your comments regarding the hot water and have arranged for maintenance to have a look at this.

We are a fairly large sight but as you mentioned we do have some lovely areas to walk to the beach and once you have worked up an appetite there are many food places to eat!!

All your lovely comments will be passed on to the team and I am sure they will be very pleased.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Reception Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Check in easy. Staff friendly. Caravan clean but small and missing a few basics like a tin opener, wooden spoon. The shower room was damp and impossible to get towels dry. Be careful when booking a caravan as superior certainly isnt the title I would give. Beds tiny. Pool small with poor showers and lots of changing rooms without locks. Pool only open for short periods of time. Security passes constantly asked for. Mash and barrell over priced food. Not a place I would choose to return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Tracey T

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday.

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and that you would not look to return.

I do apologise that although your caravan was clean, there were a few items of inventory missing. If you had reported this to Reception, we would have been happy to replace these for you.

The swimming pool does shut for a short while during the day so that the water activities can take place.

We value all feedback so that we are able to maintain and improve on our high standards and I would like to thank you for these.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my Family stayed at the orchards on the weekend just pass, i must say due to the amount of review we were a bit skeptical about our stay. We were impressed with how clean the caravan was 10/10,

The spar shop catered for all needs, even for a quick bite or a home cooked meal. the service a papa johns pizza place was amazing, the young lady on the counter was very helpful with explaining the menu.

The fun stars knows how to put on a show, amazing atmosphere within he live lounge. The bar was well acquitted and the fun shop had all the characters from the kids show the kids now enjoy a DJ Ned and Bradley Bear teddy.

The arcade had a lot the offer in the games department, the kids enjoyed playing on the games and winning their tickets and prizes from the 2p machine the young lad always had a laugh with The kids and they referred to him as the "cookie monster" and was always around, hardly saw the other attendant, the girl at the ticket shop was very helpful with the hard choice of spending the tickets,

All in all we would love to visit and stay again in the future, great park and will defiantly recommend to friends

thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Sam H

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent holiday at The Orchards.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break with us and that you were impressed with your caravan.

As you mentioned the Spar shop does cater for all needs and has a lovely bakery. I have passed your kind comments regarding the service in Papa John’s onto the Manager and the young lady that served you.

We have very positive feedback regarding the entertainment that the Fun Stars provide. I am glad that you feel the same and hope the kids are still enjoying their DJ Ned and Bradley Bear teddies!!

Its always a difficult choice when changing up your tickets that you have won on the arcade machines!! It sounds like the kids really enjoyed themselves!

We do hope to welcome you back in the future and if you would like to check any prices or availability, please feel free to contact us on 01255 820651.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Site is very clean had a luxury van, nice pool and evening entertainment. But nothing in clacton the most boring place in the world, nothing wrong with the site apart from some really horrid family's not the kids but the parents. Staff were great would I ever go back to clacton no give me blackpool any day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevspets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Bevspets

Thank you for taking your time to review your holiday at The Orchards.

I am pleased that you found The Orchards to be clean and tidy. The Park Wardens work very hard maintaining the Park and I will pass your feedback onto them and I am sure they will be most pleased.

The Entertainment Team have very positive comments regarding their shows and I am delighted that you also enjoyed this.

I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visits to Clacton and although you have mentioned you will not be looking to come back to Clacton, I do hope you have many more happy holidays with Haven.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at the park around 7pm on the Friday night (23 may) and was seen straight away by Jamie who gave us everything we need and told us exactly where our caravan was, finding the caravan was easy as we were near the ferryboat Inn end . We were extremely happy with our caravan it was perfect thank you havens so much it was in an excellent spot for us far far better than we could have imagined we had a veranda that looked out on a little bit of water with a table and chairs set to enjoy the view just gorgeous to sit and have breakfast and lunch in the sun which we were lucky to get on sunday. The inside of the caravan was immaculate too everything and more for us a family of four (2adults,1, 8 year old and a2year old ) two bedrooms our bedroom even had an on suite toilet a large lounge dining area large flat screen tv, dvd player and fully equipped kitchen area all of excellent standard. Now for the entertainment the kids absolutely loved it they loved the shows loved meeting the characters enjoyed going in the arcade area and spending there two pennies and loved the indoor swimming pool so happy kids happy mum and dad :) the time went so fast as there was always something for my girls to do we stayed from Fri to mon and both children wanted to stay longer as they loved it so good job havens. I just want to say a big thank you to all the staff at havens we had a fantastic break at your park and will definitely be returning hopefully we will be able to request the same caravan too if available once again thank you we loved it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi dondon1973

Thank you for your amazing review for your recent holiday with us.

I am delighted to hear that you received a warm and informative welcome on Park by Jamie. I have passed your feedback onto him and he would like to thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to hear that you were more than happy with your caravan. It really does sound a relaxing holiday, having your breakfast outside in the sun!

The Entertainment Team work very hard each day and I am glad that your children enjoyed the shows and meeting the characters.

We do hope to welcome you back soon and if you would like any prices, please call us on 01255 820651 and we will be more than happy to check for you.

Kind Regards
Amy
Holiday Experience Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
2.3 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven

Property: The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven
Address: St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 8LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Park Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing