We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but mix up on room spoilt our stay”
Review of The Sandrock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sandrock
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Overall a very nice place to stay breakfast was good and the room we had was nice,but we booked this short break about 8 weeks before we went. I looked on the internet found this guest house it looked great so I got the prices £134 for two nights or £130 for two we opted for the £134 as this was a room on the first floor I know because I phoned rather than book on the Internet. This was because I struggle with stairs but I was assured that this was a first floor room. We arrived it all looked nice we paid on arrival and was taken to our room I have to use a crutch to help me nothing was said. Up the first flight of stairs expecting to go to one of the rooms in front of us but to my horror we continued up two more flights.We got in the room and we talked about looking for some where else as I knew I would not be able to do this.I spoke to the lady on reception, she did apologise and said that there was a mix up and no other rooms where available as they were booked up. we stayed as we did not want to have to look for any where else.We were not offered £4 back being in a cheaper room. So if you decide to stay here make sure you have what you have booked before you pay and if you have any disabilities ask them to put it in red ink when booking and not in pencil then you will not be over looked. we did like Clacton our fist time for a visit but spoilt but have not rated this stay down because its a nice place to stay if you are fit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for The Sandrock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Excellent location very close to the pier and city centre.
Really clean, big room and bathroom and excellent price. Do not look further and go there. We did not have our breakfast but I suppose that it is really nice. Parking space is free of charge.

Room Tip: Think any room is nice, ask for sea view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamEndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

So the weather's been baking hot and it's ages since we've been to the seaside. Ended up booking The Sandrock in Clacton at a price not much more than the local Travelodge - but with a personal touch and located a stone's throw away from the seafront and pier.

The important thing to remember is that this is a guest house - so rooms are clean, functional, and most importantly comfortable (loved the pillows on the bed). Our room had a partial side sea view, which was really nice. Parking options are pretty good - maybe 4 spaces available at the back of the guest house, but there looked like plenty of (free) on-street parking too.

Breakfast hit the spot, and Paul's sense of humour showed both in the friendly chat, the in-room booklet describing the local area, and the very special Diet Breakfast option (ask for details). We followed up on one of his recommendations on our way home - High Tea at the Tiptree Tea Room in Dedham - perfect on a lovely summer afternoon followed by a sunny walk by the river! We weren't surprised to bump into them enjoying sandwiches and cakes when we arrived. Anyway - thanks for the tip, it was lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Cambridge_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

No faults whatsoever with this hotel room was nice & the breakfast was worth getting upto every morning the hotel is very well placed near the front so its not far to walk to the pier will come back next year forsure

Room Tip: Rooms 2 or 4 seem tobe the best there
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights and would certainly return.It is a lovely b&b in an excellent location central to places to eat, shops and the seafront and pier. The owners very friendly and a lovely breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2010jo-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Owners were very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, clean and modern, and very comfortable bed! Breakfast was yummy and very generous. Ideal location - opposite the sea front and Clacton Pier, next to the High Street with all the shops and restaurants, everything was walking distance. Would most definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for a sew view if possible, and got a room with partial sea view - it was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabseens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night and couldn't have wished for a better stay..lovely room,fantastic breakfast,So much to do in clacton and the beach was lovely,The owners Paul and Jill were very welcoming.would defiantly return.Thank you very much for such an enjoyable experience..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
428215, Owner at The Sandrock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and feel sure that you would of had a great meal at The Shed on Mersea Is on your way home. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#6 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandrock

Address: 1 Penfold Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sandrock 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Sandrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandrock Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing