We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and having stayed in both a Travelodge and a Premier Inn I don't understand what all the fuss is about paying for a car park. It's fairly common in budget hotels and £4 for the night is a bargain. Stayed in one in Brighton that cost £25!! Rooms are clean and basic but I do agree about the tea and coffee but it's a bed for the night and not somewhere to hang out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scowners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    80
    50
    25
    19
See reviews for
84
100
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for a spontaneous night away to the seaside! The room was great value for money and close to the main attractions which was exactly what we wanted for one night. The receptionists were very welcoming, especially Mary who was very lovely and took a real interest in whether we'd enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Decent refurbished room, clean and comfortable. FAB shower.
Friendly staff.
Quiet.
Excellent location for town and beach.
Bad points. Add £6.20 per night for parking though, everywhere else is permit only. Plenty of drunk hobos hanging around outside through the day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I use travel lodges / premier inn's a lot for business as well as pleasure.
This travel lodge is not the best its tv's are limited to 5 channels ...yes just the 5 like the dark ages, the tv 's av option is also blocked so you cant plug in laptop, games console, phone, dvd player etc.
The outside is not welcoming, people hang around outside at night drinking swearing etc, sleeping on the streets . also the car park is not in the hotel its opposite and although my car survived the night unscathed, I would not leave my car there again overnight.
Apart from that there was a really odd smell in the 3rd floor hallway in the evening , couldn't put my finger on exactly what it was, but smelt a bit like burning (curry maybe) im not sure.

Pricewise the Travelodge was reasonable , but overall for an extra £5 could have stayed somewhere a whole lot better , the parking was £6.20 overnight so all in all I made a bad choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank IStayawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A nice clean and comfortable room/hotel. Sheets clean and bed was comfortable. Towels provided and tea & coffee. Only one very minor thing, would of been nice to have had a small shower gel/shampoo and a hairdryer in the room. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This Travelodge provided Basic Great Accomodation at an extremely good price. Everthing you needed for a disabled couple attended by a professional and marvelous team of manager and her staff. We both felt supported and happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Whilst beds were comfortable and rooms basic and clean, the room was very hot and stuffy as there was a restriction on the windows and you couldn't open them much, there were no toiletries in the bathroom. The coffee and tea etc was literally one per person with no sugar, and parking is across the road in a chargeable NCP car park, Wifi is very expensive for the night so didnt use. The rooms are basic in decor i have stayed in cheaper hotels that are much more attractive to be in. The main issue though was the lack of ventilation it made it very uncomfortable to be in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#14 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - ...
#13 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central

Property: Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Address: 45 Jackson Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clacton-In-Sea Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Travelodge Clacton-On-Sea Central Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing