We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!”
Review of The Ocean Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clacton-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We organised a weekend for 24 people staying at this hotel and it was wonderful. Everybody was happy with their rooms, the hotel is in a fabulous position and the staff are superb. Friday night had live music in the bar which was great and enjoyed by all. Sat nights the hotel has a disco (not my thing but enjoyed by many). As there is music in the bar there is obviously some noise - this didn't bother any of our party as we were not intending to have an early night!!! My room was on the main road facing the sea and it had very efficient double glazing - we thought it was very quiet until we opened the window in the morning. On Saturday night we ate in the restaurant and the food and the service was superb. 24 of us had a room to ourselves, we all got each of our courses within a few min of each other and the grub was beautiful - every steak was cooked as ordered (unusual in my experience!). I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anybody visiting Clacton and hope to have a return visit myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan107_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    38
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
18
58
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The people at the hotel were lovely. We arrived on a bank holiday and after being stuck in m25 traffic for 4 hrs i was in a foul mood and to top it off we discovered my other half forgot to put the fully packed suitcase in the frikkin car before we left. So upon arrival I shamed my other half at reception by telling them said story. The woman was lovely and told me all about the local shopping, where to go for all my weekend bits and pieces and was very welcoming.
It's in a central location so the seaside is literally across the road.
I managed to get a few bits and bobs in the town centre but the shopping is pretty minimal in the area.
We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner as it is the nicest venue in the area and my boyfriend ordered a steak that you cook on a hot stone. OMG you HAVE to order this!!! It was gorgeous, especially when you put a little garlic butter on the stone to cook over.... serious sexy mouth moments!! Waiter & waitress again offered great service and a bit of banter which was fun and the mains were bog of on the saturday so it was amazing value.
Bedroom was lovely and clean, en suite, reasonably priced... I can't fault it barr one tiny thing. The blinds in our room were pretty leaky so I was awake at 7am from the sunlight but tbh it meant I had more day to chill out in the local arcades and sit by the sea!
You couldn't want for better service.

Room Tip: The higher up the stairs you are, the quieter it wiill be as there is a loud disco all night downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_w89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed on a Friday evening when live music was played in the bar, which was a great atmosphere and very talented musician, also saw future listings of live music events to come.
Took advantage of a 2 courses for £12 offer in the restaurant, very good value. Advisable to book a table as it filled up quite quickly. Steak was cooked to perfection along with generous side orders made for a lovely meal. Couldn't fault the service, in the restaurant and bar area.
Room was clean and tidy and good value.
Would book and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve481976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went to Clacton as we were visiting friends, I picked this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. The Hotel room is basic but clean, which is more important, Disappointed though that there were no shower toiletries, which you would normally expect in an ensuite room, Breakfast was very good, Breakfast is between 9am and 10am, however as there were only a few people in we were asked what time we would like breakfast, we said about 9,30am, We were ready early so we went down at 9am but restaurant then did not open until 9,30 am so had to wait, Staff very friendly and helpful,This hotel is in an ideal location on the sea front.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel twice and every time we have stayed we have been greeted by helpful, friendly staff. Our rooms have been clean and comfortable, perfect for a relaxing weekend by the good old English seaside. The bar offers a great opportunity to sit and unwind. Both mornings we were offered a great full English breakfast and there is also a choice of cereals and juice. This hotel is now our perfect retreat and we will definitely be returning every year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Ocean, perfect location for all of the local attractions/amenities ie the pier and restaurants/shops. Staff very friendly and welcoming, breakfast excellent, and our room was sparkling clean (most important!) although basic.

Only negative was the noise from the street, pier and nightclub next door! But maybe we're just getting old!! Would probably sacrifice the sea-view and go for a side room next time but would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlymelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

As we travel to Clacton many times we have use most hotels but they have never "rocked our boat". This time we stayed at the Ocean at it has changed our views on Clacton hotels. It is nothing to look at but enter the doors and you step into a different world. Pleasant and attentive staff. Clean and comfortable rooms with all the facilities, and a "Brucie bonus" the free internet works first time and if you have stayed in as many hotels as I have you will understand what this means.Many thanks to all. See you again. My vote is 11 out of 10.

Room Tip: Speak to Tina, she will sort it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.5 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#4 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Property: The Ocean Hotel
Address: 5 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured a warm welcome at The Ocean Hotel, where the focus is on customer service. This family run Hotel is ideally situated on Clacton seafront just 100 yards from award winning sandy beaches and the town’s Victorian pier. The main shopping areas of Clacton are also just a short stroll away. The Hotel provides 17 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, as well as first class dining facilities in The Ocean Restaurant and a friendly bar area, with plenty of outside seating space and live music every Friday night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing