We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location with good facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is an ideal location for families who still want that traditional seaside holiday. The caravans on offer range from basic to luxurious. The facilites are really good and cater for children with a range of activities. I was extremely impressed that I even ended up buying a caravan there and will be spending more time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    163
    126
    92
    155
See reviews for
521
65
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A poor park. Swimming pool cold & changing rooms filthy. Entertainment hall ok, a bit grubby, lacking in atmosphere & entertainment non-existant. Accommodation ok, though no parking next to caravans-you have to park in the car park and then trek it through a field to get to where you have booked. Not helpful if you have kids & have to make trip after trip back to the car. We usually stay with Haven & this park summed up why. It was like a set from a 1970s carry on film rather than a relaxing resort to stay at. Staff seemed uninterested when we reported that our toilet didn't flush, and after three visits to reception over two days and still no joy, we decided to pack up and come home. Never again Highfield, never again Park Resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chezzaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review of our park. I was really disappointed to read that you did not enjoy yourselves with us. The vast majority of feedback is very good, but we appreciate we don’t always get these things right. We get a lot of positive comments about the team themselves, so I was a little concerned to read your comments about them - we will of course feed that back to their managers. I have already raised your other concerns immediately with the managers and asked them to come back to me with some action points and reassurance that what you have told us does not cause such concern again.

I am sorry that this experience has put you off the brand as well as our park, and wish you all the best with any future holidays.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely long weekend - have to say a huge thank you to all the staff - kids had a great time and found Matt especially friendly and kids loved him - park is kept lovely and clean too - we stayed 2nd-5th May - Facilities were all clean - staff were mostly friendly and entertainment staff worked extremely hard - kids did archery in the day, dancing, bingo and games in the evening - went to the swimming pool as mentioned changing facilities small but not a huge problem went went in to Clacton pier 2 - short drive - there is a bus stop outside and Tesco opposite. Definately would recommend.

Room Tip: go for a gold caravan or above as from other reviews it seems people were disppointed with any less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the park, the team and other guests really benefit from seeing these reviews. We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the activities, and the team do work very hard as you have mentioned. A lot of the holiday homes have been completely refurbished, so they are of a very high standard, regardless of the grade.

Please come back soon, we hope to see you all again.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

28 Dartfordians visited Highfield Grange 2-5 May 2014. Warm welcome at Reception by Gary Brown and a mad alien! We arrived early and was given directions to the restaurant to have lunch. Our caravan was spotlessly clean and very spacious. Entertainment for the children was great, so much for them to do. All the staff were very helpful throughout our stay (so much energy!). Evening entertainment was very good. Great atmosphere at this park and Gary was great, very helfpul and informative! Will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walsh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to be able to look after you all during your break and Gary certainly had a good time with you all. The positive feedback really encourages the team and helps inspire them. I certainly agree that the atmosphere this year has been fantastic and so many more people are contacting us to say what a great time they have had and lots of people have rebooked for later this year. I hope you don’t leave it too long before you come back to us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked a £9.50 sun holiday so wasn't expecting anything amazing. However the caravan was spotless and everything looked new. We we're given bed linen which we didn't pay for so that was a bonus. Caravan park is lovely everywhere clean and tidy. Only downside would be the changing facilities for swimming there should be more.

It's only 10 mins in car to clacton which was fab, 5 mins to clacton factory outlet which is worth a visit. Opposite is KFC, Pizza Hut and a tesco.

Overall it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review, it is very much appreciated. We continue to hear really positive feedback about the cleanliness of the caravans, which is great! The team are really passionate about the park and I hope that comes across. We are keen to keep the park free of litter, this has been a big focus this year. We will look to review our seating areas and changing rooms this winter. Thank you again for your feedback.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Check in was speedy & fast, we had a 2 bedroom caravan. We always upgrade to one with heating just incase it's cold and that way you can start your holiday at lunchtime. Entertainment is more for infant/junior school children. The payable actives are a reasonable price with football, archery and swimming pool ones to name a few. Our caravan was clean. Play areas, swimming pool and arcades will keep the kids busy. Staff are polite and honesty as my son lost his wallet with £43 in it and it was handed in by a member of staff. We were very grateful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelAlexHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. They really do help us understand where we are and how we can improve. I was really pleased to see you had a good arrival, we have put a lot of effort and focus into the first 2 hour experience for our guests. It is crucial in our eyes to get your holidays off to a good start.
You mentioned some of the activities we do, these are really popular and we are lucky to have the space to do these both indoors and outdoors. It is great to hear about the wallet being handed in. The staff would always try and reunite people with their belongings.
Please come back soon.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pool changing facilities were poor. Restaurant food ok but not great. Staff friendly. Especially Taffy (Dylan) who fixed our toilet quickly and gave us some good places to visit. Spent most of our time and Walton on the Naze and Frinton escaping the choice people who seemed to be staying there. I'm not a snob but the language of the majority of holiday makers was terrible, no one seemed to care there were children about.

Room Tip: We had the best caravan which was spacious and well stocked with essentials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the park. I am sorry that you found the changing rooms to be of a poor standard. We have had a few new changing rooms installed recently, following feedback from our guests on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate the comments about Taffy, they have been passed on. I hope that you will come back again sometime.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.9 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.6 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#12 of 13 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melrose Hotel
Melrose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: London Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 9QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing