We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Grand Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
The Lemon Tree Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Frandon Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
The Beeches(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Barton Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Esplanade Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Langtry Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chudleigh(Clacton-on-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
323
178
134
101
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
178
134
101
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizza hut and kfcboat houseretail parkbig tescoboathouse restaurantentertainment staffmadness and mayhembaby poolmin drivegreat weekendclacton pierhalf termfamily holidaygreat parklovely caravanoutdoor poolkayleigh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great stay once again we stayed here for a second time on a four night break, the park is very welcoming,friendly,and clean. ideal base for visiting colchester zoo 30 min drive away 10 mins to clacton pier

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review about the park, it was great to see that you had as much fun on the second visit.

I hope that you come back again soon, I am sure you will have a great time.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

No parking near caravan which is a nightmare when you have little ones with you making sure they can navigate their way to the caravan whilst struggling with luggage, we parked on the grass next to our caravan to unpack (we hadn't seen the signs that asked you not to) a knock in the door by a guy asking us to move the cars, whilst trying to settle children in my husband went to find 2 car spaces about 100 metres away before he could the man came back and GAFFER TAPED a not to my car and we said we were just settling the kids he got aggressive in front of my children and said "I did warn you" he then said he was going to fine us £100... The caravan was riddled with ants again when we went to complain we were told the park is full we can't move you the first activity we waited for but no one showed up when we went to find out why we were passed from piller to post no one accepting responsibility the evening entertainment was so full we has to stand all evening with little ones the room was clearly not adequate for the amount of people there... The team stars seemed over worked and everything they organised was chaos Due to how many people they had and how few of them there were.... Very disappointing I have holidayed with park resorts end of May for the last 7years and this is by far the worst experience we have had and definitely will not be returning.... It had ended up costing us a lot of money having to entertain the children off site so they could still enjoy their holiday.... Poor show park resorts simply not good enough you are supposed to be providing children's holiday dreams not parent holiday nightmares btw staff need to be trained in basic manners, they really made a bad situation worse!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura_lou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I was very sorry to read your review. We have tried our best to create a safe environment for the children, and therefore we do insist that people do not park on the grass. The last thing we ever want to see is a child struck by a car as they just don’t expect to have cars driving around on the grass. I hope you can understand why. We do put information in the packs, and there are large signs around the park notifying our guests of this policy.

It is evident that this incident then set the scene for the rest of the holiday, and it is clear that you did not enjoy yourselves, which is a real shame. There are so many things to do here, and the team really enjoy looking after the families.

I do hope that this experience would not put you off returning to another park in the future.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good site,plenty for kids to do,childrens entertainment staff were 1st class,caravan was small but adequate,Boathouse was great value for money..Now the bad and it meant we left a day early.My stepson got injured trying to get the sofa bed out,we asked the security at arcade for a first aid person,they returned 5 mins later to tell me that there were no 1st aid staff on site!.This is a park for families,children mainly,yet there are no 1st aid trained staff.The next morning we were told by reception that there is in fact 1st aid trained staff on the site BUT IT IS ONLY FOR THEIR OWN STAFF!!..So enjoy your stay,its a lovely park,some great staff,just please beware that if any of your loved ones get injured or fall ill then it is up to you alone to help them,you will only see the elusive 1st aid trained personel if 1 of their own gets injured or falls ill,not very assuring for families with children eh...A great shame.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read this review for a couple of reasons, the main one being that your son had an accident whilst at the park. I am sure that by now you will have received the letter we sent out, and of course we will follow that up.

We have up to 8 qualified first aiders here during the day, and 2 at night. The nature of the injury was such that it needed a trained medical professional. First aiders would not be allowed to glue an open cut, and as you had already got compression on the cut, it was important that you took your child off to be seen to.

I am sorry that this incident seems to have spoiled your memory of the park but I do hope that you will consider returning to Park Resorts in the future.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great weekend away very clean quick check in friendly staff helpful great shows fab caravan great food booked again for aug really enjoyed this holiday with park resorts unlike the one I went on to Romney marsh

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babycani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it was very welcome. The team here pride themselves on looking after the guests and really have a passion for what they do.

I am sure that when you come back in August, you will have an even better time, hopefully with a bit more sun!

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went to Highfield Grange Holiday Park for the Bank Holiday weekend. This is our third visit to a Park Resort and we all had a good holiday - however, there is room for improvement. We booked a Gold Plus caravan which was excellent and we appreciate being able to check in at 1.30 pm. However, it would also be good if you didn't have to check out at 10 am which is rather early on departure day. I went into the office on Sunday morning to see if there was any flexibility on check out and the girl on reception wasn't flexible at all (unlike the two other parks we've stayed at). I appreciated that the camp was full but I also pointed out that it was impossible to clean every single caravan at 10 am so if any leeway could be given, even 30 minutes, it would be appreciated - but no, not a chance ... and of course when we packed up and left there wasn't a cleaner in site. The park itself is well laid out - more signs could be useful for new arrivals so that it's easy to see where to go to find your caravan as after a drive to get there you don't really want to spend the next 15 minutes driving around trying to find your caravan. A lot of the caravans are not reachable by car which is great for the children as it means they are safer but not so good trying to get all your stuff down a long path to the caravan. There was quite a lot of litter about, particularly around the caravans. There were a lot of children cycling about but nowhere to lock your bikes near to the club house - proper bike racks would be good rather than trying to find posts. The club house / entertainment hall isn't particularly big - certainly not compared to others we'd been to - but we did always manage to get a seat. The park doesn't have free WiFi anymore but has linked up with Wifinity who offer 'parkwide' WiFi ... which having paid for a 4 day connection we then found didn't really include in the caravan unless you were hanging out the window ... which again, the Sunday receptionist was very quick to point out was nothing to do with them and I should ring Wifinity directly if I had an issue. So before you tie yourself into an expensive WiFi deal, be aware it may not be 'parkwide'. We were pleasantly surprised to see there was a fish & chip takeaway on site as it wasn't listed on their website, but not so impressed on Saturday evening to find they didn't have any Haddock (on a Saturday of half term?!) and the person cooking the fish was using an electronic probe to see if it was cooked. This didn't give us much confidence so with the queues of people waiting for food, we went outside to Skinners (I recommend this takeaway which is a short drive from the campsite). The swimming pool area is great - very warm water both inside and out - and the tube slide was very popular. Overall, we had a great time - the entertainment staff are absolutely superb. Everything they do, they do with such enthusiasm. Personally, we didn't think much of the change to the Kids evening entertainment whereby each night a different character tells a story as there's no pictures / images on the screen and it was very easy for the children to lose concentration (apart from Pipsqueak who is very good!) when looking at a character whose mouth doesn't move but the rest of the slot was good with games / dancing. We all had a great time and were sad to go but it could have been even better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - it is always good to read the very detailed reports as we quite often pick up ideas and improvements from these.

The only reason for the 10am check-out is to allow us enough time to clean and prepare the holiday homes for the next family. If we pushed it back any later, families arriving would have to check in at tea time and I am sure you will understand that this would create a number of difficulties.

After reading your comment about signs, we have purchased some more to make it easier to navigate your way around, and added more numbering of the caravans too. I was pleased to see that you appreciated the work we are trying to do to keep the cars off the grass. As well as being better for the grass, the main reason is that children are so much safer. They do not expect to see cars driving between caravans, so we are very strict on this rule to protect their safety.

There is free WiFi in the Boathouse, and we are now running 4-10 meg superfast broadband into EVERY caravan on the park. This is all brand new and very exciting if you want to use that service.

Thank you for the feedback about the entertainments team, they will love to read these comments.

We hope that you will come back to see us again in the future.

Highfield Grange Holiday Park
01255 424 244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews