We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot wait to go back”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

What a blinding holiday Christine and I had at this resort We were treated as part of the family nothing was too much for the team we had so much fun The park and caravan were very clean Really friendly staff Definately on top of our list Thanks to Lee and his team for making our holiday special Scary Mary xxx

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for a great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the team treated you as part of the Martello Beach family. A massive thank you from all the team and we cannot wait to see you both again soon. Remember to give the Holiday Sales team a call to receive your second holiday discount.
Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    163
    120
    82
    186
See reviews for
505
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

gold plus caravan was lovely and clean, BUT park was covered in rubbish, entertainment was rubbish very under staffed, table and chairs need updating & small, 2 bald headed security blokes spent the 3 nights looking at my kids and following them around making the kids feel very intimidated even when they was out playing in the park our kids are very well behaved & was made to feel like they were thugs. we have spent many years going on park hoildays and have always had a lovely time but this time was awful full of drunken yobs shouting and screaming, the area is very run down and dirty the park is very un dated and needs to be uip dated the roads leading to the park are full of holes.will never go back there again i like to make sure my children are safe this is not a place for familys to go could not wait for my 3 nights to be up.........

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review, I apologise that you found some of our facilities to a standard you would not expect. The park is litter picked twice a day and we do provide litter bins for customers to use. Our security team are very friendly and helpful at all times, of course they have to do their job which is keep the park safe and this includes the monitoring of all guests. Myself and the whole team at Martello Beach have put lots of time and effort in to bringing the park up to date. There is always room for improvement and we are making improvements on a daily basis. The holiday park is a safe and secure environment for all our customers.
Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I booked caravan up through groupon I upgraded from a bronze to silver mainly to have heating in the caravan. When arrived was handed keys the receptionist said you have silver when arrived in the caravan realised we had Bronze went back the staff was polite but said they didn t have any silver so put us into the bronze gave us a voucher to spend in the bar and gave us a portable heater didn t offer to hand our money back or apolohgised I got the impression they think we would nt have noticed. Otherwise the site was nice and we had a good weekend not a lot to do nearby or of the site. If you are going with young children beach nearby and a nice play area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the right caravan what you paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review. Firstly, let me apologise about mix up with the grades of caravan, this was down to an error on our part. However, I am glad to see you and the family enjoyed the adventure playground and the local beach and we hope to see you again soon.
Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

i could not fault the complex or the staff. we really enjoyed our weekend.caravan was clean and comfy.was only a basic one as booked using sun paper vouchers.as in previous reviews the surrounding town is very run down as you drive in but the holiday camp is clean and a good base to visit other places.we went to walton on the naze which was nice and clacton.for a cheapy holiday i cant fault it.swimming pool was brilliant very warm so my baby didnt shiver at all. only down side is clubhouse gets very hot need to put air con on a bit more i think.unless its done to make you drink more! on leaving my son left a box of his toys in the caravan and was distraught however i rang up and the very friendly staff said they would post it back to us. i didnt find any overflowing bins as in previous reviews so maybe they have improved this. i can recommend a stay at martello beach .a visit to colchester zoo recommended also.didnt go this time but its nearby and have been before when staying in clacton.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmcv28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for a great review, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your holiday at Martello Beach. The team work around the clock to make sure everything is to a standard that you would expect. I completely agree with you, Colchester Zoo is definitely worth a visit and I’m glad your son was able to carry on with his Lego building when he returned home. We hope to see you again soon.
Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend essex
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Found the area very run down the gold van we stayied in very nice. The security was mainly to idiots on the door who never check ed passes look girls and children up and down and noticed nothing thats when they weren't kicking a ball about out side entertainment was ok they tried hard but at to do to much not enough staff. People outside the park picking up dog ends and trying to get into the park. Reminded me of the walking dead on tv. It really was the seaside town they forgot to close down.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philliprobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are working with many organisations that are currently contracted to clean the whole area up, hopefully this will make the entire town better. A security presence is available 24 hours a day here at Martello Beach and our security team have had many comments about how friendly and helpful they are, as we are acutely aware of the importance of a sense of well-being for all our guests. I was happy to read that you liked your standard of caravan and you enjoyed the entertainment.
Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was a bit worried about our break at Martello Beach after reading some of the reviews on here but after arriving on Friday lunchtime, my fears vanished.

Caravan - we booked a Gold Plus and it was spotlessly clean. The main bedroom housed a double bed and two large wardrobes and an en-suite toilet/sink. The bed-linen was crisp white and the pillows/duvet underneath were also very clean after closer inspection! The second bedroom had two single, quite narrow beds and a small wardrobe. The bathroom had a clean toilet, sink and shower. The kitchen was well equipped with essentials such as kettle, toaster, microwave, mugs, teapot, cutlery, pans etc and all very clean on arrival. There were radiators in all rooms which kept the cold out and the temp could be adjusted easily.

Staff - from the staff on reception to the staff in the arcade and bars, everyone was very welcoming, polite and extremely helpful. They were constantly cleaning so that everywhere was kept fresh - the arcade smelt of Pledge (!) and the carpets were not grubby/smelly in bar areas which is usually the case. We had a problem with our oven and a maintenance person dealt with it promptly and got it working for us.

Swimming Pool - although the pool was small, it was warm and had a small separate baby pool. The outside pool is also quite small but was not open due to open until May. The changing areas were kept as dry as possible by the staff on duty,

Food - the food was OK, nothing special but reasonably priced and edible.

Entertainment - the kids entertainment was very good with Sparky the mascot making regular appearances and posing for photos with the children. The early evening puppet show was a hit with songs from Frozen which they all loved. After the puppet show there was party dancing and games for the family with prizes for best Daddy dancing etc, Great laugh and the entertainers were full of energy and enthusiasm. They had four excellent singers on about 9pm who sang songs from The Drifters and got everyone up dancing and mingled with the audience.

As other reviewers have said, don't be put off by Jaywick as you drive into Martello Beach, it is very run down but once you get through the barrier to the park, its fine. The park is kept well maintained and the reception staff are very welcoming.

All in all a lovely couple of days and we really enjoyed our stay,

Room Tip: Gold Plus caravan couldn't be faulted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review. It is always nice to hear how great a family holiday has been here at Martello Beach. The team work around the clock to make sure everything is kept to a standard that you would expect, and your review has been passed on to all the relevant departments for them to read. We hope to see you again soon, and don’t forget to give the Holiday Sales team a call to receive your second holiday discount.
Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having read reviews on here I was slightly dubious as to what to expect, but we enjoyed a nice 4 night stay. Admittedly Jaywick is very run down, but the park itself is pleasant. Our caravan was spotless and virtually brand new (although it was cold at night). The pool was lovely, clean and warm, and the booking system worked well for us. The children enjoyed the children's entertainment, free bouncy castle and play area. We ate at the bar one evening and the food was well priced and standard basic pub food, nothing special, but entirely edible. The park was generally well maintained. There were several fairly ferral children, but we just ignored them (as did their parents!). Overall, a nice easter holiday break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJane20142015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your Easter holidays, and your stay at Martello Beach. We hope to see you again soon, and hopefully this time the sun will be shining all weekend for you.

Martello Beach Holiday Park
01255 820 372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
4.1 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
558 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#8 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Highfield Grange Holiday Park - ...
#10 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Belsize Avenue | Jaywick, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 2LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing