We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and clean”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A warm welcome and as you went in it smelled so clean and fresh,the room was great clean fresh bedding and towels,there was plenty for breakfast,cereal,yoguarts,50/50 bread,pint of milk,fresh fruit,banana,apple,plum,orange,lots of butter and jam's,cheese and more than enough tea,coffee and sugar,we would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 412linzi123412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Good sized clean well decorated room. Bathroom small but functional. Breakfast was very disappointing. I like the idea of a continental breakfast in the room but the quality of the food was very poor. No choice of cereal, processed cheese, sliced white packet bread for toast and a couple of corner yoghurts - the only fresh fruit was an apple, a pear and a satsuma ( as there were two of use wasn' t sure how that was supposed to be shared out!. Plenty of tea and coffee. Don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sophia is very welcoming and hospitable, lovely clean and comfortable room for the price. En suite shower a little slow but adequate. Bed lovely and comfortable. Good TV picture. Breakfast in the room makes for a very laid back time with a choice of toast, cereals, yoghurts, OJ, jams, cheese and lots of tea and coffee. Would happily return if I'm ever in Clacton.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker ask for the room at the front on the ground floor, it has patio doors :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Second time this year at this guest house but this time took our two grandchildren. we had the same room as last time which has since been completely re decorated with added bunk beds. We all had a great time they made our grandchildren feel very welcome. Breakfast was once again more than enough to satisfy us all.Much better flat screen television than the old portable that was last in the room. Near to the sea front and town but far enough away for a quiet nights sleep.
will be the only place we will stay in at clacton as we enjoy the room facilities with the do it yourself breakfast when we were ready to have it which really does suit us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

What more could you ask for free parking in front of the property (a real positive especially summertime in Clacton). A warm friendly welcoming from the hostess. Lovely spacious family room with on suite shower room. Loved the breakfast in the room we were provided with a fridge containing 2 pints of milk, butter, jam, marmalade, cartons of fresh orange juice, yogurts, cheese, then also a loaf of bread, fresh fruit which provided you with a continental breakfast there was also a kettle, toaster & microwave which was great for warming my little girls milk before bed & in the morning. Flat screen tv on the wall. Free WiFi access in the room & checkout not til 10.30. Overall a lovely place to stay overnight with a very relaxed & peaceful sleep. Will definately go again but maybe for a few more nights next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Brunton House Guest House is just such a lovely place to stay!

The whole house is absolutely spotlessly clean, the rooms freshly decorated with delightful personal touches such as coordinated linen to match decor and even napkins.

This is a family run business and Sophia who I dealt with is amazing – friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble! We stayed for a total of two nights, first night two rooms, second night three rooms and although she was fully booked juggled the rooms around, more than once to accommodate us all when we needed an extra bed at the last minute!

As mentioned in previous reviews the facilities in the room - flat screen tv on the wall, fridge,toaster,kettle, microwave along with a breakfast of fresh bread and fruit, yoghurt, cheese ,milk, cereals, juice, jam, butter are all so convenient and just add to an unrushed relaxing stay.

I highly recommend Brunton House Guest House, and if I ever need a place to stay in Clacton again I wouldn’t go anywhere else – Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We needed to have a short break down south because the climate is better for my wife's respiratory problems. Didn't expect much but boy were we pleasantly surprised. Very friendly hostess met us at the door, so set things off to a very good start, warm welcome. Couldn't ask for more. The decor of our spacious room was very nice and up-to-date. Very clean all around. I knew there would be a fridge and such so that was just an added plus. To be able to have breakfast when you want it in your own room is like having self-catering on a smaller scale. Plus we were able to bring food back if we wanted to later. We've traveled much and have stayed in loads of B&B's but this one ranks on top of our list as favorite because of the little extras that make a big difference. Will be going back very soon and recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, let her know and she'll give you a room on ground floor. No problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabaaMoon45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.3 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#4 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton House Guest House

Address: Guest House 15 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range: £55 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunton House Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton House Guest House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing