We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day break at Clacton on Sea”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunton House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 14 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Lutton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“3 day break at Clacton on Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights at Brunton Guest House. We found the room to be spotlessly clean with crisp linen and towels and toiletries included. Breakfast consisted of bread, butter, jams, milk, orange juice, cereal, yoghurts and fresh fruit, various teas and coffee. Sufficient room for table and chairs, all cutlery, plates, toaster, microwave and fridge supplied to enable you to have breakfast at your leisure - what more could you want? We arrived late on our first night and were greeted with a warm welcome from Paul, the proprietor, but.......the highlight of our girlie break was Sofia supplying us with 2 wine glasses after spotting our stock in the fridge!!!
Will most definitely return in the future. Many thanks to them both from Janice Gray and Julie Campbell

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at Brunton House as a base to visit my elderly parents.

The room was super-clean and the shower worked - it was noisy though, so I don't know what it would have been like for someone next door. We didn't hear anyone else through the night so I'm guessing there's some decent soundproofing.

One of the things that normally puts me off guest houses is the communal breakfasts, where you have to be down for a certain time and have to make conversation with the owners. I prefer the anonymity of Premier Inns and the like. Anyway, no problems here! The continental breakfast - yogurts, milk, couple of cereals, plenty of sliced bread and jam, and some fruit - was already in the fridge in the room so you could have it when you liked. This would be great if you were working and needed an early start.

At £50 for a double room, this was extremely good value. Flat screen TV on the wall with good reception (again, the traditional guest house seems to be the last refuge of the badly tuned old-fashioned TV, so that was a relief).

Friendly and practical welcome. Off street parking.

Bed was a little on the small side for a double, and you could slightly feel the springs in the mattress - not enough to stop a good night's sleep though.

Overall, a great value option that over-delivers for the price - I would definitely stay here again if I needed to visit Clacton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great, roomy, quiet facilities. Wonderful stock of food and drink for breakfast and snacks. Location of the guest house is very close to the sea and town centre. We walked everywhere.
Sofia and Paul were very helpful and friendly.
Nice big, comfortable beds, large room, lovely ensuite.

Room Tip: We were 'under the stairs', but the room was great; big window, high ceilings, tons of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

A warm welcome and as you went in it smelled so clean and fresh,the room was great clean fresh bedding and towels,there was plenty for breakfast,cereal,yoguarts,50/50 bread,pint of milk,fresh fruit,banana,apple,plum,orange,lots of butter and jam's,cheese and more than enough tea,coffee and sugar,we would stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 412linzi123412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Good sized clean well decorated room. Bathroom small but functional. Breakfast was very disappointing. I like the idea of a continental breakfast in the room but the quality of the food was very poor. No choice of cereal, processed cheese, sliced white packet bread for toast and a couple of corner yoghurts - the only fresh fruit was an apple, a pear and a satsuma ( as there were two of use wasn' t sure how that was supposed to be shared out!. Plenty of tea and coffee. Don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sophia is very welcoming and hospitable, lovely clean and comfortable room for the price. En suite shower a little slow but adequate. Bed lovely and comfortable. Good TV picture. Breakfast in the room makes for a very laid back time with a choice of toast, cereals, yoghurts, OJ, jams, cheese and lots of tea and coffee. Would happily return if I'm ever in Clacton.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker ask for the room at the front on the ground floor, it has patio doors :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Second time this year at this guest house but this time took our two grandchildren. we had the same room as last time which has since been completely re decorated with added bunk beds. We all had a great time they made our grandchildren feel very welcome. Breakfast was once again more than enough to satisfy us all.Much better flat screen television than the old portable that was last in the room. Near to the sea front and town but far enough away for a quiet nights sleep.
will be the only place we will stay in at clacton as we enjoy the room facilities with the do it yourself breakfast when we were ready to have it which really does suit us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#8 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton House Guest House

Property: Brunton House Guest House
Address: Guest House 15 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunton House Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton House Guest House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing