We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Laxfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laxfield Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Horrible owner. As soon as we walked through the door it seemed as though we were dirt on the bottom on his feet. Though we probably were given the state of the 'hotel.' Carpet was foul and didn't even cover the whole room. Promise of a tv, you just don't expect that you can't see the thing. Milk was mouldy.
A smile from the owner probably would have made that stay a little bit bearable. I highly advise anyone to think again about staying here. It's 'cheap' but it's not worth it. An extra tenner to stay at the travelodge not far away is a far better investment, we only visited there, but their staff even cared more about us than this owner.

Room Tip: Don't choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    5
    4
    12
See reviews for
11
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I was absolutely appalled with the hospitality of the owner of this hotel. When we first arrived he demanded we had not paid, we were unsure but he had a massive go at us which he didn't need to do! Then if matters couldn't get worse, we could not view the tv from our bed. In the morning we were relaxing in bed at 10.00, when we had a VERY rude hard banging on our door and a man yelling that we needed to be out by half 10. How is this hotel still allowed to run?? It's an absolute abomination that this man is allowed to be in the hotel business!!!!!!!!!! I felt like I was treated like a common animal...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

when we arrived owner was grumpy to say the least i know it was only £40 pound for the night but he had heating troubles and it was the day it was 30 degrees the breakfast was nice but i would not go there again or recommend it .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have recently visited this hotel and although very wary of going after having read the previous reviews, the look and price seemed worth the effort. Myself and my daughter were having a cheap girlie weekend and thought we would give it a try. The rooms were very clean and tidy and had a home from home feel, the gentleman who greeted us was very inviting and welcomed us with a smile and we instantly felt comfortable. Although the rooms are not en-suite the location of the bathroom and toilets are within easy reach and are clean and kept to a good standard. The bar area in which you can relax and enjoy has a TV and is warm and welcoming. This hotel made our weekend and we would definitely go again and would recommend that you try it especially as it is right near the beach and pier and is very cheap. The Breakfast was superb too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Me and my partner booked this hotel as a cheap place to stay for a driving course I was taking, firstly I fully agree with the first three comments above. To start off with we were greeted very rudely by a man who appears not to know the meaning of a friendly smile, apart from being rude he had no sense of the requirements of his job. After he finally found out the room we where staying in he walked us down a uncleaned hallway. After we lugged our bags up three flights of stairs we finally reached our door. Hoping for something a little bit more co-habitable we were welcomed to a hot and sticky box room with a double bed touching each side of the walls, the smell was enough to make your eyes water. Next time we stay in Clayton we have picked a bench that boasts better facilitys

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southendlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had booked with this hotel on Friday and thought that it looked ok from the photos but do not be fooled this place is filthy , our sheets had stains all over them,the man that runs the hotel was not very friendly and there is NO TOILET OR SHOWER in the rooms, the view is awful but the thing that bothered me the most was how disgusting the place was, it looked like the place had not been cleaned for YEARS... I felt like I could not breath it was so dirty. I would not allow my dog to sleep in this place,I do not rate it at all and think that it should be shut down,,,I am unable to submit this unless I rate it so I will just give it one although it does not deserve anything.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Roulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I booked this hotel with my daughter and payed £20 per person. went cheap and chearfull so didnt expect much but did expect it to be cleaned. my room was filthy, carpet not hoovered, dust everywear and dirty bed linen, the whole place smelt a bit. Needs a good clean and updating. cant comment on breakfast as i didnt want to risk it. the only good thing was the location, right near the see front, near to the pier.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#8 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melrose Hotel
Melrose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Vere House
Le Vere House
#9 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laxfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laxfield Hotel

Property: The Laxfield Hotel
Address: 3 Beach Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or travelling on business, The Laxfield Hotel is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Clacton on Sea. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations along with Sea View rooms. We are a 14 bedroom hotel with Single rooms, Double Rooms, Twin rooms and Family rooms. All rooms share facilities and some have fantastic views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laxfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laxfield Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing