We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Armstrong's at the Pavilion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant has unrivaled and uninterrupted views over the sea. Sample the delights of Breakfast at Weekends, Bank Holidays and during School Holidays, Morning Coffee, Light Lunch or Full A la Carte whilst enjoying the views. The wind protected terrace is a wonderful suntrap and a relaxing atmosphere. Armstrong's has regular music and is a great place for private functions for those that want to hire the restaurant. Relax in the bar or enjoy the Pavilion Bowl and Amusement Area right next door. There is something for everyone
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is the first place we have ever eaten at that I can honestly say is FAULTLESS.
As a Ceoliac sufferer (gluten free diet) I always have a problem eating out. Armstrongs is perfect as they offer almost every item on the extensive menu as g/f. ie; Burgers(including the bun) Lasagne, scampi, various starters and sweets and much more.!
From booking to paying the very reasonable bill our entire experience was a pleasure. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the atmosphere was lovely.
Whether you just pop in for a coffee or sit down for a full meal you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Armstrongs. Cant wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wot_it_says_on_the_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Armstrong's at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

i was very pleased we were able to squeeze you in and that you enjoyed your time with us. GF food needs to be taken seriously and we hope we do that. My wife is a fellow sufferer so we appreciate how hard it is for Coeliac sufferers to eat out but it is getting better out there. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 674 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Was invited as friends won a meal through Dream FM, plus it was my other halves birthday, ambience was lovely, the pâté starter was too die for (wish we had asked for the recipe), blanch bait came up in a little silver bucket, Armstrong special pie had loads of chunks of meat, roast dinner was lovely too, staff were very nice and helpful and very polite, highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Armstrong's at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

It was a pleasure to meet everyone on Sunday and l am so glad you enjoyed your meal and the setting. I passed your comments on to our staff especially Aaron who is fairly new to us your comments about him was a good lift letting him know he is doing a good job.
Now you have all found us don't be long in coming back. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were passing near to Clacton and decided to stop for lunch. I checked tripadvisor reviews and decided on Armstrong's.
I am so pleased we did, the restaurant was stylishly decorated with lovely piano music in background. We were greeted and shown a table straightaway by very friendly waitress who took drinks order, We both ordered Fish and Chips and thoroughly enjoyed our meals, the fish was beautifully cooked with no soggy batter and portions were very generous - in fact I have never bothered writing a review before, but feel I have to let others know what an enjoyable meal we had.
Thank you Armstrong's we shall definately return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ang53274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Armstrong's at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We are always pleased when someone takes the time to write especially when it is with such positive comments. Your words will be passed on to the staff concerned who l know will be delighted. When you are passing again it will be a pleasure to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We ate here on Sunday 22/9/13. The atmosphere was nice and music relaxing and as for the food well the steak was devine. Sunday roast was good size and loads of veg. Staff friendly and happy to give us a doggie bag for your youngest member who was too tired to finish his meal. Have to say would be nice if they did a mini sunday roast on the kids meal. But overall a good experience and would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank travelcherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Armstrong's at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

really pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your great comments on the staff and food.
With regards to the chidrens roast l can only say that if you asked and we did not do it l would be disappointed as it should never be a issue and it is something we have done on numerous occasions. If you did not ask but were guided by the menu l promise now to have a childrens roast added to the Sunday lunch when the new menu comes in shortly and thank you for prodding me to get it sorted. Hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

On recommendation we visited the Armstrong restaurant in the Pavillion, it was a birthday treat and we thoroughly suggest a visit. We selected homemade lasagne, although the chips were frozen, salmon with hollandaise sauce and traditional cod and chips. The servings were very generous, with the staff very attentive and ensured that everyone was happy with their dishes. Great selection on the menu, some of the party selected deserts, sticky toffee pudding and Baileys cheesecake. A party of four with two courses and wine was approximately £18 a head.
Our waiter also suggested a second visit such as special nights, afternoon tea and the entertainment that was available

Thank Guideposts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Armstrong's at the Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Very good to get a recommendation and live up to expectations. I am hopeful that when you mention frozen chips you mean they were not hand cut rather than not cooked ? Assuming the latter i agree It would be good to be able to do them ourselves but space is an issue for us as well as the volume we go through making it regrettably unpractical. However it is very pleasing to know you had a good time with us and the cheesecake picture is superb. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armstrong's at the Pavilion also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Armstrong's at the Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing