We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great weekend”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife, my granddaughter and myself spent the recent bank holiday weekend at the Esplanade. This was our third stay, the first one being back in August 2012. I gave a fairly long review at that point so this is my no-frills second review.

Room - Great
Value for money - Great
Will we visit again? Definately.

Comments: This hotel is under refurbishment by the new owners. Some rooms are refurbished, some are not yet. This probably explains the varying reviews shown here. Having said that, I saw the owner put up the "no vacancies" sign over the weekend when many of the unrefurbished rooms were clearly vacant. To me this says that he only wants to offer nice rooms to customers and raise the profile of the hotel. This shows his commitment to offering a good service to customers.

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    48
    48
    29
    56
See reviews for
45
95
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week. It is in need of a refurbishment . Shower didn't work properly and bathroom was dirty , wall had damp to the point where the wallpaper was hanging off. Plus points ,decent wifi , comfy bed, decent breakfast. Good location .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Very rundown. Didn't want a shower coz it looked scuzzy. Not value for money at all. Will not be staying there ever again. The bed was lumpy, we Kept knocking our legs on it. The bathroom was disgusting run down and very small. The breakfast was the size of a childs meal so we had to fill up on toast. From the outside the hotel looks lovely, but the inside is terrible. The only nice thing I will say about it is the sea views. But not enough to make me stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I got married at the Esplanade in September. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable, and many had beautiful views of the sea and pier. The dining room and lounge were just right for the meal, reception and disco. It's size made for a lovely, intimate wedding that we and the 60+ guests enjoyed greatly. The staff, especially Charli, were invariably helpful and made the day go smoothly. We had compliments on the wedding meal and the cooked breakfasts were enjoyed by everyone. For the reasonable prices, we consider the Esplanade to offer excellent value. We will certainly go back there for a relaxing weekend away from London.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

what a shock,after viewing pictures on late rooms.com,nothing like what we seen or expected.it was that horrid,old fashioned furnishings,poorly decorated,and dirty.and they even had the cheek to ask for a extra £30 each for a nicer room.lol it was just as dirty just a bigger room,i reckon the nice pictures they show on the web are the managers own room, cos they certainly didnt have one to show us,no we didnt stop.no way we lost £54. that they had the cheek to demand,even though the hotel/hostel was not full.late rooms have this dump rated 3* they have a cheek,youd have to be desperate to stay here.

Room Tip: stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gullivercoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Staff were extremely friendly, other guests were friendly. Food here is out of this world. Situated in the town if ur looking for night life. Ok parking isnt good but that cant be helped. I would stay here again. Our room (room 16) was clean, spacious and everything we wanted and needed in a room for our 3 night stay....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemychildren0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A two night stay at this hotel was bought for us a wedding gift through the Wowcher website. Even booking the hotel was a traumatic experience. The service we received on the phone should have been a warning.
On arrival, we pulled into the ridiculous car park at the rear, and made our way through the dated corridors to the reception. We weren't shown to our room, we were just was pointed in the general direction. The room was awful. There was a strange smell of what I can only describe as stale 'Bombay mix' hanging in the air. The curtains were only attached the rail in parts, meaning they were impossible to close fully. The bathroom was unclean, with huge patches of mould and algae growing on the shower head. There was no floor towel provided to act as a barrier between your feet and the badly stained floor.
The noise from whatever was happening down stairs was resonating through our room, so we thought the tv would be good to drown out the noise. After flicking through a few channels, I looked at the remote and discovered it was caked with what I can only hope was someone's old meal between the buttons. At this point we were questioning whether we wanted to spend two whole nights here.
I browsed for reviews of the hotel on the Internet, and after reading a few, the decision was made. We were going home.
When I handed the keys back to the chap on reception, he asked why we were checking out. I explained the reasons above. His only response was to look through a book and comment that the last people to stay in our room made no complaints. He asked if we wanted a different room, and we said we had seen enough already and wanted to leave.
No apology. No concern. He just shrugged and watched us walk out. He must be used to this happening.
Charging people £20 per night would be understandable. Their rates of £70+ per night to stay in these conditions is disgusting.
Please, for the sake of your health and sanity, avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel. Or the pavement outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing