We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One star is too much for this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One star is too much for this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel's webpage makes it sound and look great. BUT BEWARE.

We thought long and hard to find one positive thing about this hotel. Well, the television in the room was new but everything else was disgusting.

The room decor was poor with bumpy badly repaired walls and torn wallpaper. The mattress was very old with bumps and hollows. There were cobwebs in the bathroom. The toilet cistern was half hanging off the wall and the toilet never flushed fully away. The bathroom floor was dirty and the shower seals were black.

Our room was directly above the outside smokers table and several times we had to shut the window to keep the smell out.

If you do stay here be very careful of what you have for breakfast. On the first day we got things we didn't order and things we did order were of very variable quality; half toasted barely warm toast, mushrooms swimming in oil, sausages the consistency of paste, and fried eggs that were hard, and on one day almost like plastic.

Most of the staff appeared as tired as the hotel.

Oh! one last thing you have keep the keys with you - but they were attached to the largest, heaviest, thickest keyfob you could ever imagine. Great if it gets lost but utterly impracticable

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    47
    46
    29
    56
See reviews for
44
93
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here for 1 night at the end of July. I found the staff very accommodating. I was travelling with my husband and daughter, the hotel didn't have any family rooms available, but managed to put up an extra bed in one of their superior double bedrooms, with sea view at the bargain price of £65.

Yes the hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment, but it was clean and the breakfast was very good and you can't fault the location.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

on arrival the hotel looks ok once inside you travel back to the 60s i now know why you have to pay on entry because you would never stay
the room was clean although there was damp on the walls wires hanging out of trunking the tv and hair dryer pat test are 2 years out of date there is mould all around the base of the shower tray and shower curtain only one small towel no hand towel no bath mat pillows are like bricks we payed £95 for bed and breakfast in my opinion well over priced.
if the price was £45 you know what to expect but considering the premier prices start from £29

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 417vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clacton-on-Sea hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel from Saturday till Monday. We paid for 2 nights £170 and had breakfast included. Location is great but the hotel itself was shocking. We had a "superior" room. The room wasn't too bad even though the furniture's were quite old, the bathroom looked like it was from the 80's!! Terrible condition of the shower cabin, mould on the shower cabin walls & not great pressure of the water in the shower. Only 1 towel each (medium size) no hand towels, not even a mat for the floor so you have to step on old horrible floor.
View from the room was pretty impressive and breakfast was good.
One day when we were leaving to go for a walk we had to jump over a drunken person thinking they are in their own bedroom but he was actually laying on the floor in the hallway.
I guess it could of happen anywhere but writing this I couldn’t help myself but to mention it.
Lady at the reception was quite helpful taking our luggage in after we find out on our arrival that we can't check in because the room wasn’t ready (it was 2:30pm and we were told when we were booking that it will be ready at 12pm)
Overall experience wasn’t great. I wish we chosen something cheaper, at least we wouldn’t be so disappointed.
So if you are thinking to stay in this hotel I would advise not too.
All the best :)

Nat & Chris

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location, and the family running it friendly, but.... £85 a night a room was very over priced for the room standards, although you can see they have tried to spend a little on modernising the room decor, the furniture is tired, not sure the yellowing hair dryer would pass the electric tests & the bathroom is grotty, the shower just dribbles, and the fabric curtain, mouldy and grim. On the upside the full english breakfast was reasonable, even though my friend who had another room, had decided to forego a shower it was that grim!!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was here for a wedding and it served its purpose. No more than that.
Like another reviewer said, I was also here for two nights and the room wasn't cleaned or the towels replaced on the second day. The shower had very little water pressure so it had to be hand held to get any flow. The wifi was virtually non-existant but this could have been due to me being on the top floor.
On the plus side, the waiting staff were very good indeed, especially Charlie.
Breakfast was very good both on the Saturday when it was a full English and on the Sunday when it was self service. They were also very helpful with our small child and happy to provide yoghurts etc for him.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple Claydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked for a night in a budget hotel at a budget price. This hotel has had some very mixed reviews and it it not a luxury hotel. We found our room generally clean, basic, no frills and the staff very helpful and pleasant. Having arranged to use the carpark to assist my disabled wife we were indeed able to park there with no problem. The hotel has lots of potential, but needs a refurb however it also has to provide an income to the owners. I would suggest to them that they don't worry too much about redecoration but do a really thorough and deep clean throughout which will deal with some of the issues other visitors have raised and then re-decorate as funds allow - colours a bit brighter than brown. I wish the owners the best of luck and there is no fundamental reason why anyone should not stay here if it meets their budget.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#13 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing