We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Lincolnshire uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Few days away with teenage daughters - staff were very friendly and helpful - rooms were warm as no air con but extra fans were provided and you could have as much iced water from reception as you liked which did help. Rooms were clean and hotel was close to a McDonald's which is 24hr. The pub next door where evening meals and breakfasts are served was ok - staff here were also very friendly but food was not hot and you had to wait a long time - overall hotel was good and handy for Coast and Colchester Zoo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    157
    61
    24
    25
See reviews for
194
154
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really friendly, helpful staff, excellent service. None of the rooms have air conditioning. Our room got very hot 27.5 degrees. The staff provided extra fans but unfortunately I could not cool down and felt quite ill. Not recommended if you are pregnant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 940Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in a family room in Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea this August. The room was very good, clean and modern, breakfast was good as well. The only thing we did not like was that there is no air conditioning in the room, and in hot season it can be a very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayes middlesex united kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

excellent sleep staff were preparing our room very pleasant and friendly. room was a little warm only downside was at the restaurant were the sausages my nephew had were over done and my daughters chicken wasn't hot enough. part from that it was relaxing even for the one night we stayed there..even when it was hot they supplied a fan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at this premier inn several times. Being hot, there was a welcome jug of iced water on reception and you could have a jug to take to your room at the end of the day which was most welcome. There was a nice cooling fan in the room, helpful for the hot sticky nights.Staff went the extra mile to make sure you were comfortable. Room cleaning wasn't so good, but the rest made up for it.Nice quiet room too on the ground floor. We had a family meal in the restaurant which was very enjoyable. The inn is perfectly located very close to all places of interest.

Room Tip: Ground floor quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was too warm. The wiindow only opened a couple of inches which wasn't enough to get a cool breeze in, however I was in no danger of accidentally falling out of it. The fan in the room only circulated the warm air in the room. I therefore did not have a comfortable stay. Facilities were OK for this sort of hotel (no trouser press though). Note: 50 yards from this hotel is a McDonalds. If you don't mind their food, the breakfast is cheaper and they have free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Upon arriving we had a warm welcome and was informed that our rooms did not have air con which we thought was rather strange as the weather was very hot and a pedestal fan was provided with the curtains closed to keep the sun/light out.
The room was hot 75-80 degrees and stayed over warm throughout our stay and was unaware our window opened.
Whilst our room was clean and tidy we had found later when retiring the bed creaked excessively as I feel the base frame was causing this problem and informed the receptionist in the morning they said it will be seen to.
Unfortunately the fire alarm sounded within 15 minutes of entering the room and as my other half was in the shower I had to stay in the room having this 110 decibel alarm sounding for a further 20-25 minutes, which was quite unpleasant to my ears.
Later found there was a fault in another room.
We had now been offered a full refund for this alone which was a nice touch and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#4 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Address: Colchester Road | Crown Green Roundabout, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a fifteen-minute drive from the Clacton-on-Sea seafront and the thrills of its famous pier. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea Hotel Clacton-On-Sea
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing