We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night's Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beeches
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Night's Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked this guesthouse online for the first time for a great price and I was not disappointed! Very friendly owners, great room, lovely breakfast... just right. I had a single room which was compact but all I needed. Bed very comfortable had a good night's sleep. Tea / coffee facilities and flatscreen tv with full freeview channels. Was not en suite but had a sink which was useful. The shared showeroom & toilet was only shared with a couple of singles so was no problem. It was certainly well maintained, very clean with complementary shower gel, etc.
Great full English (would have liked mushrooms but hey-ho) owners very attentive but not intrusive.
Would certainly recommend and worth the £30 I paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    68
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
61
90
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, can't say that we were given the warmest welcome, but once the owner realised we were booked in she was lovely, gave us recommendations about where to eat and where to go.
Our room was on the ground floor and it was adequate for our needs, the bathroom was very small and in need of a facelift. Having fallen asleep I was woken up on several occasions by people trying to enter the building and then slamming doors rather than considering others.
The breakfast was cooked to order but small things like no sweeteners, only sugar available and no choice of milk on offer (although to be fair I didn't ask) & limited choice of fruit juices.
Location wise you couldn't fault this B & B, very central and you weren't bothered by the noise from the town.

Room Tip: Away from the front door would help to eliminate noise from people entering the builidng late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt. sterling, ky
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our last stop before catching our cruise ship in Harwich. We were really surprised with the warm greeting we received when we checked in. When we checked in our room, we were given another room much larger because of our luggage we brought in(no extra charge). We were given suggestions on places to eat that were in walking distance. The B&B is on a quiet street about 2 blocks from the sea. We really enjoyed walking along the park by the sea going back to the hotel after our dinner meals. We ate dinner 2 nights at the same place because the food was so good- on Tuesday night they offered Steak Club- for 15pds. you got 2 steak dinners and a bottle of good wine. Because we were to drop our rental car off in Harwich before 8am, they told us our breakfast would be ready for us when ever we wanted it. We really enjoyed our 2 nights there. The breakfast was a normal English Breakfast- was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the Beeches to visit family. Was very happy with accomodation as the room was clean and tidy, nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and the owners Liz & Barry are very gracious and helpful. Excellent customer service and a great location. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz21042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was only stopping for the night as I travelled from West to East and
Thought that £30 would get be a bargain basement deal and not much more...
Much to my surprises I was warmly welcomed into a clean, friendly, family run guest House in Clacton On Sea, Essex.
The Place was warm and clean and I was shown by Barry to my room which had everything I needed. After a heavy night catching up with friends and Family I trotted downstairs to a welcome smile and a massive selection of breakfast treats. I had Weetabix (3 Weetabix as 2 is not enough), toast, yogurt and a fry up of Epic proportions. nom nom nom. Washed down with Coffee and OJ I had a quick chat with the owners and headed on my way. All in all I was welcomed in, made to feel at home and sent on my way with a full tummy and a smile on my face.
was great to meet you all at the beeches.

Mick (white Van Man)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waechtersbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome from Liz, Berry and there son.They always made sure we have all that we need. The rooms were very tidy, bright and enormous - i had a single room and it was definatly enough space.
The reception area makes you feel comfortable from the very moment you step in.
In the morning when all of us went to have breakfast (and there were 7 of us)-Berry welcome each one of us with a good morning and a smile. Breakfast and services = EXCELLENT
Liz, Berry and there son truely have a amazing joyful warm hearted natur and that what makes us definatly going back there.
Again thank you for your hospitality.
With lovely greetings Rita Cox and the Sadrettin family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonnensche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at The Beeches last bank holiday.
A very warm welcome. Lovely size room and very clean.
The bed was so cosy.
Breakfast was very tasty.
Plenty to choose from.
Fresh fruit,selection of
cereals,lovely cooked breakfast, toast and jam. Tea, coffee and fruit juices.
Really sets you up for the day.
Location is great.
Approx 5 minutes walk to the sea front.
Would definitely stay again at The Beeches.
Well done to the owners.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie1hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#13 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#8 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Property: The Beeches
Address: 12-14 Ellis Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest-house. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Minutes from the centre of Clacton and the sea-front. 3-star AA rating. Excellent breakfast made with locally sourced produce. Please ring for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beeches Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing