We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great find!”
Review of The Beeches

The Beeches
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beeches
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great find!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Never visited Clacton-on-sea before so checked Trip Advisor for reviews & selected The Beeches. Like many before us we were not disappointed. Ticked all the right boxes, mine hosts, food & near to sea front. Room was faultless, abundant hot water & slept surprising well. Put it down to memory foam under top sheet making a mental note to invest in one for home. Breakfast a real treat for both of us, Sheryl not into 'full English' yet well satisfied with alternative fay re on offer. Received plenty of advice on where to go & places to eat, again advice was taken up & we were not disappointed. Come here again? you bet ya.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    68
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
64
90
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Brilliant B&B! Wound recommend to anyone. Had a fab stay, fab food great People and host's. Room's where spotless, clean, light and airy, beds comfortable, great facility's, minute walk from sea front. Would come back here again. Many Thanks from the Sarah's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We couldn't get in to our usual hotel in Holland-on-Sea and decided to book here since the reviews were all favorable. I'd classify this as basic - a friendly and helpful host, a spotless room - on the small side, but adequate. I thought the bathroom was a bit cramped. The sink was so small that when I tried to rinse my face, my feet got wet. I also don't like that it doesn't have mixer taps - but neither do half the hotels in England. No A/C but opening the window made it a bit cooler. Breakfast was fine and we were given good recommendations for dinner. The stairs were a bit narrow but we were able to get the bags up without too much difficulty. The parking was a bit inadequate. Sometimes we could park in the allotted parking and other times we had to park across the street. While this wouldn't be my first choice for a place to stay in the area, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if my first choice wasn't available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked this guesthouse online for the first time for a great price and I was not disappointed! Very friendly owners, great room, lovely breakfast... just right. I had a single room which was compact but all I needed. Bed very comfortable had a good night's sleep. Tea / coffee facilities and flatscreen tv with full freeview channels. Was not en suite but had a sink which was useful. The shared showeroom & toilet was only shared with a couple of singles so was no problem. It was certainly well maintained, very clean with complementary shower gel, etc.
Great full English (would have liked mushrooms but hey-ho) owners very attentive but not intrusive.
Would certainly recommend and worth the £30 I paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, can't say that we were given the warmest welcome, but once the owner realised we were booked in she was lovely, gave us recommendations about where to eat and where to go.
Our room was on the ground floor and it was adequate for our needs, the bathroom was very small and in need of a facelift. Having fallen asleep I was woken up on several occasions by people trying to enter the building and then slamming doors rather than considering others.
The breakfast was cooked to order but small things like no sweeteners, only sugar available and no choice of milk on offer (although to be fair I didn't ask) & limited choice of fruit juices.
Location wise you couldn't fault this B & B, very central and you weren't bothered by the noise from the town.

Room Tip: Away from the front door would help to eliminate noise from people entering the builidng late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt. sterling, ky
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our last stop before catching our cruise ship in Harwich. We were really surprised with the warm greeting we received when we checked in. When we checked in our room, we were given another room much larger because of our luggage we brought in(no extra charge). We were given suggestions on places to eat that were in walking distance. The B&B is on a quiet street about 2 blocks from the sea. We really enjoyed walking along the park by the sea going back to the hotel after our dinner meals. We ate dinner 2 nights at the same place because the food was so good- on Tuesday night they offered Steak Club- for 15pds. you got 2 steak dinners and a bottle of good wine. Because we were to drop our rental car off in Harwich before 8am, they told us our breakfast would be ready for us when ever we wanted it. We really enjoyed our 2 nights there. The breakfast was a normal English Breakfast- was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the Beeches to visit family. Was very happy with accomodation as the room was clean and tidy, nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and the owners Liz & Barry are very gracious and helpful. Excellent customer service and a great location. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz21042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clacton-on-Sea hotels
1.7 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#4 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#7 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Property: The Beeches
Address: 12-14 Ellis Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest-house. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Minutes from the centre of Clacton and the sea-front. 3-star AA rating. Excellent breakfast made with locally sourced produce. Please ring for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beeches Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing