We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chudleigh
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is absolutely excellent. It was a great find and I would thoroughly recommend it.
In particular, they have big bath towels, high quality bed linen and generous breakfasts offering great variety.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinah_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
169
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here for our first wedding Anaversary. The staff vere friendly, the breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. They are about 2 mins walk from the beach and pier.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_ayers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just to reiterate and agree with other reviewers of Chudleigh.
Owners very pleasant and helpful. Very clean and quiet room and given choice of room but they were all nice rooms.
Very comfortable bed. Refurbished shower room. Lots of extras in room-bottle of water, chocolate, biscuits, assortment of teas,coffee etc. Quality toileteries, thick towels, hairdryer.
Near beach, pier, and shopping centre (M & S and Sainsburys) nearby.
Excellent choice at breakfast. Well cooked and faultless - could not do better myself and I'm a catering manageress !!
Would stay again if we are in the area. Parking in front is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here for 1 night recently on a family visit. Excellent room - spotless and nice modern decor. Very comfy bed. Fresh breakfast in the morning is so much nicer that the usual chain hotel 'buffet' fair. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly.

Very short walk from the sea front. There is parking in the front of the hotel which was fine for my stay.

I would stay here again, and have no hesitation in recommending the Chudleigh.

Room Tip: Sat nav instructions will get you lost in Clacton's one way system if you don't know the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Chudleigh 2 nights last year visiting friends in Clacton, and have just stayed on a second occasion for another two nights. The hotel owners and staff are very welcoming, the rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped, with attention to detail, and the breakfasts are generous and well cooked. Carole and Peter have been running the Chudleigh since 1964 and they have got small-hotel-running down to a tee. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a one night stay in The Chudleigh and don't think we could have chosen a better place to stay. On arrival we were met by the owners who showed us where to park then after a quick check in showed us to our room which would rival some 5 star hotels! We stayed in room 4, not the biggest room in the world but it was clean, bright and beautifully decorated. Facilities included a hairdryer, TV, tea and coffee facilities with a good selection as well as some biscuits and chocolates. The bed was oh soooooooooo comfortable, the bathroom was clean with a good selection of toiletries.
We also had breakfast, soo much choice, so nice and cooked to order. Even the location of this hotel is ideal, close to both the beach and the town centre, couldn't fault it in any way, if you're planning a visit to Clacton then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviep18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband is a rep,and has stayed in this hotel for nigh on 30 years,when he is in the area,and this is the first time I have been able to accompany him.He has always sung the Chudleigh's praises,and I certainly wasn't disappointed.Lovely hotel,very friendly couple,exquisite bedroom,great food.If ever they receive a less than favourable review - believe me 'They should have gone to Specsavers'

Room Tip: All Good,I am sure evry room will delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clacton-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
24.8 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#9 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Property: Chudleigh
Address: 13 Agate Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing