We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clactons best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chudleigh
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clactons best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

On reading reviews written on other sites [Booking.com] I am amazed at how anyone can find anything negative to say about this wonderful venue. The room we just stayed in had just recently been refurbished and was of the very highest standard. The owners, Peter and Carol always make us feel welcome and the breakfasts are freshly cooked and served to your table and not left on a buffet to get stale and dried out as in some cases. We will continue to use this excellent hotel/B & B for as long as we are able.

Room Tip: There are some ground floor rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek_snelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
169
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

What can I say, it's all true !! fabulous. A regular visitor to Clacton we can't wait for the next time. Our super kingsize bed and pillows were to die for, as was the breakfast, I couldn't have done it better myself. Decorated to a very high standard, we were made very welcome. We'll be back. Many thanks from the Wilkinson family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was our fourth visit to Chudleigh, but the first time I have written a review. As guesthouse owners ourselves it is so refreshing to stay somewhere, where they hold the same values as us.
Hosting-fabulous, housekeeping-fabulous, admin- from taking our booking to check-out- fabulous, hospitality-fabulous, value-fabulous, breakfast with the choice to the way it's cooked and presented-fabulous, hospitality tray-fabulous, bedding-fabulous, We have only ever stayed out of season because or our own guesthouse, but Chudleigh is a place to stay where you can do as much or as little as you wish.
Sorry Peter and Carol we shall be back in November! Thank you for looking after us so well. Next time we will see you will be in Lynton! Nigel and Debbie.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

If you want, a warm welcome, spotlessly clean rooms, fluffy white bath towels, high thread count sheets, comfortable beds, endless hot water, high quality toiletries, delicious breakfast - look no further. It's The Chudleigh where you need to to stay. You won't be disappointed and won't want stay anywhere else in Clacton. The Chudleighs location makes it easily to walk into the town or to the beach.
Thank you Peter and Carol for a lovely stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrsposhsimontemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very friendly welcome, room very spacious and had everything you could need. There is a very good breakfast menu, which was excellent and plentiful. We had lovely stay and would definitely recommend. The Clarks

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked last minute in January 2014. There was a warm welcome awaiting us from Carol and Peter. The room allocated to us was clean, warm and cosy. The towel rail in the bathroom assured us warm towels after a bath or shower. Peter excelled himself the next morning with the cooked breakfast it was very tasty do try Peters grilled tomatoes. We stayed a second night. Lots of lovely thoughtful touches.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Tiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our second visit to Clacton to visit our son and again stayed at the 'Chuddleigh' they were also able to accommodate him at short notice our stay as ever was most enjoyable with warm welcome from owners Carol & Peter. Just like home from home warm clean and very comfortable, food is perfectly cooked to order and so much choice. Rooms and bathrooms spotless with plentiful supplies.
There was also a good range of tea, coffe hot chocolate and biscuits in the room.
We will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clacton-on-Sea
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
24.8 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#9 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Property: Chudleigh
Address: 13 Agate Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing