We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there next Sunday”
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #34 of 205 Restaurants in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Thought we would give it a try just to see.
Wow, size of the dinner was massive, and really lovely.
Has now become a regular visiting place on a Sunday.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

We thought we'd give it a go as there aren't many places worth a look in Clacton. As it was a Friday night we thought it best to book. Glad we did as the place was packed at 7.30! Very friendly atmosphere and a good welcome, with varied menu. The food, once it arrived, was very reasonable. I only gave it 3 stars this time however because from the time we ordered to the time our main course arrived (didn't order starters as we thought we'd go for deserts!) was around 90mins :( We're always happy to wait for freshly cooked food but we hadn't planned on quite such a wait. It meant we had to forgoe deserts as we had get back home at a reasonable time. Overall a great intro tho' and we'll be back.... we'll just make sure we pick our time and make an evening of it :)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank r0yb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Was trying to impress a new client and discuss business, I have visited the Ship before with my family and thought I would try it during the day, Amazing quiet atmosphere, WiFi was spot on no buffering during my one to one presentation and food was out of this world can highly recommend the classic Ham Egg & Chips all at a great price Thanks Again will be back and I know they will be

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Wilf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Can’t fault the food today but lost interest when the owner started shouting at our waiter asking him to do another job when he was clearly busy doing another one already her mouth was a disgrace and she called him a cu## don’t think she relised how big her gob actually was it put me off my food another man nearby was chocking on his food to hear her potty mouth I have run my own business for over 30 years and it doesn’t pay to treat staff in this disgusting manner how dreadful and embarrassing for the young man she needs to step back and take a look at what she’s doing before she has no staff left won’t be visiting there again

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank joannejessica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Popped in for mid-week lunch. Good menu selection available, Choose from normal and lunch time specials (2 courses £7.95).
Good portion sizes, friendly staff and clean surroundings with a nice atmosphere.
Would pop in again if in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TheBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea
Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing