We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday roasts”
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #37 of 205 Restaurants in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Omg I came here on Sunday 7th Oct with my mum, dad and 6 kids. The roasts were very good value for money and delicious. Even though there was 9 of us the meals were all brought out together and the kids were made very welcome

Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely family meal at ship.inn made 2 feel welcome freindly staff excellent priced food and very tasty will be going bk and highly recommend it

Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Had a meal there yesterday specials are fantastic I had the lamb shoulder with homemade mash to die for ........going bk at the weekend for there Sunday roast but had to book as so popular. ...owners were telling us a new menu coming out on Friday can't wait to see this at the weekend on our return 5 stars wish we could give more .

Thank Alan Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Just had a roast at the ship it was bad enough that we had to wait so long that I needed another shave but when it came it was terrible half cooked potatoes and beef that was so toughyou could repair your shoes with it but to be fair they only charged us for one dinner won’t be returning

Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveN1743, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Sorry you felt your dinner was unsatisfactory nobody else complained who had the roast potatoes cooked in the same tray and no complaints about the beef either . We have many comments on how good our food is. And as for the wait you were not a booking you were a walk in and knew there was 45 minute wait .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This was our first time to the ship and i found the staff to be very polite and courteous my husband ordered the garlic breaded mushrooms and i had the prawn cocktail they both came out looking fantastic and it tastes really nice then for his main he ordered the fat belly buster burger with chips and coleslaw it was massive and it looked great i ordered the roast turkey dinner oh boy it was massive but it was so tasty i could not eat it all if you want to go and have a meal here you need to book this pub is great for couples and families i met a lovely couple who just keeps coming back and i must admit i will be going back there i have been to so many places for pub lunches and evening meals and i have never got the service that i received to day don't just take my word for it try it for your self's 01255 475889

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janet1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing