We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not rush back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel

The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Kent
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Would not rush back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

On arriving at the motel, I was greater by a very curt ginger haired lady. Took my money gave me my key.

The room was a single, ok in size, and clean enough. Modern bathroom.

Now for the terrible bit, the bed, well no exactly a bed, a rib cage! No pockets, cheap mattress, with nasty nasty springs. I got NO sleep , not a wink, the most uncomfortable bed ever! What a shame, because the location and room are great.

Forest lodge need to replace there mattresses and sort out there attitude.

Room Tip: Take a foam mattress topper with you for the mattress , as there mattresses are awful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IloveshoppingKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I, friends and family were looking for a hotel near to a wedding venue in the Epping Forest. We only wanted a bed for a couple of nights so opted for this. We were aware that cheap can often men nasty but were extremely happy with this place. It is clean and has all you need for a low cost room. On top of this, the breakfast was one of the best I have tasted.

If you need just a bed, book in here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Suited our needs perfectly- quirky and homely and excellent value. The double room was clean, homely and the staff were very helpful, friendly and the breakfast was great. Only problem re location is phone reception, only orange/T mobile has consistent bars. Otherwise it's beautifully located. Next to a kids play barn so if u r coming on a Saturday the carpark will be full. But we will be coming back with the family soon as the family room looks fabulous. Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninjamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This Motel was converted out of Stables and as you might expect each room is small. So small that you may develop sympathy for the horses that used to sleep here . We stayed in a double room which is apparently defined by being able to assemble a double bed with in it without every side touching the walls. A folding chair resides in the worlds shallowest wardrobe and when you unfold it you will be trapped wherever you are standing.

The room smelt and the main window had no key to open it. The decoration is described as "tastefully decorated" and "home from home" but could only be rationally characterized as ugly and cheap. The T.V. was pre-digital with five channels and a dirty remote control. Entering the room spoilt my day.

On the plus side the bathroom was clean and tidy.

During the day the place is also a children’s play centre so it is a busy car park. Breakfast is taken in the play centre but you would be better off going to a café in Epping. The motel is really only for sleeping although the walls are thin and the doors exit onto the car park.

It is set in Epping forest and should be ideal for visitors exploring this wonderful woodland but I would suggest trying a real Bed and Breakfast. There don't seem to be many in this area which is why places like this motel survive. Elsewhere in England £55 would get you a nice B&B but not in this part of Essex.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optilith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epping hotels

Billericay
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Not a bad place to stay if all you want is the basics. Theses converted stables are a great idea and i would recommend staying if you are after a no frills overnight stay. Why they didn't use some noise insulation board when they converted them is beyond me.
Our room did smell a bit when we first went in not sure what it was but it certainly wasn't a cleaning product.
Our friends stayed in an other room which was fine so i can only assume we were unlucky. Breakfast is served in a children's play area with fixed seating. i did notice some of the less able people struggle to sit in the seats but again this is no frills.

Everything worked well and booking was quite easy.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowingBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
3.2 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel

Property: The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel
Address: Commercial Complex High Road, Epping CM16 5HW, England (Formerly Forest Lodge Motel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel Epping, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing