We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Epping”

The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Epping
United Kingdom
1 review
“Best stay in Epping”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am very surprised after reading the review as I booked a room for my girlfriend who has never stayed at the Motel and had nothing but to say how amazing and lovely the stay was. Amazingly clean , room was very spacious, strong shower and good parking facilities and above all it was very cheap. I enquired around Epping and the prices were unbelievable. My girlfriend has been so impressed, she now wants me to book more rooms for her as she wants to bring her family over and take a walk in the Forest... Overall best stay and very clean. I would definitely stay again and recommend to my friends and family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in regards to your stay at our motel.
As we are located in the forest, it is the ideal spot to have a lovely stroll.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

we we're a little apprehensive about it, after reading the reviews, but i can honestly say that we had no complaints,our room was spacious & clean,with a comfortable bead,strong shower & shower gel provided, tea& coffe,tv, good parking available, pleasantly surprised and for £55 very good value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in regards to your stay at our motel & look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Upon arrival i thought this seems like a very fun little place to stay in. Once i opened the door to my room i was disappointed. The toilet flush didn't properly work, the towels were in a bad state, the door couldn't open properly due to the position of the bed, the bed itself was very uncomfortable to sleep in. Overall the quality isn't great but it is bearable however what concerns me the most about this motel is the fact that they took money out of my friends bank account with no warning, no authorisation and refused to speak to her when later questioned. She has now had to cancel her card and an investigation is being made. Please do not give them your bank details and pay by cash as this could potentially happen again to other.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has now been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
As you found it a fun little place to stay, we would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epping hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When a taxi driver laughs when you tell them when you’re staying then you know you may have made a mistake. Forest lodge was recommended for its location to an event i was going to and i would say that was the best thing about it. The staff were either rude or had no clue what was going on the room was shabby and old and unkept and i was really disappointed. Its fine to be a budget hotel or motel but i think the hotel inspector would have a field day

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wattsjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is appalling! Don’t ever stay here. On arrival the receptionist seemed dazed and confused- without a clue what we were paying, where our booking was and what day of the week it was! Slightly worrying when we had confirmed the booking several times.

On arrival to the room- the receptionist knocked on the door and in her words said ‘just incase anyone has snuck in’ not really appropriate when we were two young ladies staying in the room worried about security.

The room was previously a stable- and lets just say it smelt like one! The door was paper thin and didn’t feel secure at all.

The room was in a horrendous state- the toilet was near enough unusable as the flush no longer existed-we resulted to sticking out finger down the hole to work the flush- lovely!!! The towels looked prehistoric and were falling apart- the shower curtain was a lovely yellow!

In the room- the tea and coffee cups were dirty, the sheets were damp and the pillows were as thin as a piece of paper.

We put up with it for one night as we were out a wedding all day, however we were horrified to then see that we had money taken from our account for supposedly damaging the remote control with tongs. Funny when none of us used tongs and had been to the hairdressers that morning. They never gave us warning, nor gave us a contract- just took the money. We have since had to change card details to ensure they take no more.

When we called the hotel to discuss this they were rude, shouting and called us a liar- they then hung up!!!! Do not trust this hotel- they will take your money, no doubt scamming other people with similar lies…..

A truly horrendous stay

Room Tip: Just dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellerhan2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was basic and the toilet flush was broken so we had to put our hand inside the top of the system, towels were all ripped and dirty. Our friends also had exactly the same problem in their room. Gave card details over the phone to reserve the room, and although we paid on arrival I have had money taken from my account. Had to cancel my card and report the payment to the bank as unauthorised and there is a investigation underway. Would really not trust this place as we were charged damages for THEIR poor quality of the room. Wish we had made a big deal instead of just putting up with it - out to make as much money as they can and exteremely rude. Tried to call and they just hang up. People would be silly to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

cant believe some people have slatted it, i did roll up and think oh not what i was expecting.
lady on reception was helpful and polite.
stayed with a friend and we had a twin room, it was clean and pleasent with a modern bathroom.
There is a tv in the room and a bench outside if you wish to smoke or have a tea outside, literally stayed here for night out in Epping.
for the price really cant complain, would deffo stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2016
Thank you for sharing your comments about Forest Lodge Motel. I am happy to say that the motel has been taken over and is now called The Rooms@Forest Lodge.
We would love to welcome you back to see if you like the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
50 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
708 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
6.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel

Property: The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel
Address: Commercial Complex High Road, Epping CM16 5HW, England (Formerly Forest Lodge Motel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rooms@Forest Lodge Motel Epping, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing