We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epping
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gate House
Ranked #1 of 3 Epping B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We found the Gate House very last minute and booked it quite short notice. It has an ideal location, which is kinda away from busy part of London, but close enough to get to central if in need. We were lucky, everything was tip top. Jane was a great host, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very nice, with a little personal touch. Shame we could not stay few more days long enough to dine in the Restaurant next door. We highly recommend this lovely little B&B to everyone, it was very straight forward booking process, smooth arrival and easy check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gwb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Gate House is located right in Epping Forrest and a beautiful new building. We stayed for 1 night (which wasn't enough) on 31 May. Jane was there to greet us as we arrived on a beautiful sunny day to show us to our rooms. Dad isn't so good on his feet so he had a large double bed with a walk in shower to die for on the ground floor. With myself and my son taking roomy twin on the first. There is a communal lounge area with books and games and a dining area. Jane asked what time we would like breakfast and there she was the following day with a huge array of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants and toast. Lots of fresh juice, tea and freshly made coffee - an excellent start to the day. There is also a newly opened restaurant next to the Gate House called Hayward's Restaurant and the menu looked amazing and judging by the comments on Trip Advisor - is amazing ! Can't wait to come back to this area when a visit will also be made to the Hayward's. Thanks for a wonderful stay Jane & Robin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

High quality accommodation in a house set aside for guests only. Rooms with free wifi and very clean and fresh. Shower cubical in my room a little small but quality fittings all round. Breakfast is buffet only and can be taken outside in nice weather. Also in the family the old English pub next door and the newly opened fine dining restaurant, all you need really at £70 a night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed for two nights last week and occupied the whole B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Jane was really accommodating, friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts, both cooked and continental. We appreciated finding a large pile of children's games in the lounge.

The house is very comfortable, clean and uncluttered with a simple neutral decor. The beds and bathrooms were great. Really hot water.

We got fresh air with an early walk in the woods straight from the door, which was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryw125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at The Gate House for two nights and we were very impressed. The accommodation was lovely, modern and clean and quite a relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and very well done. A good family run business where nothing was too much and they couldn't do enough to help.

Would definitely recommend and look forward to going back once the restaurant is up and running to give that a try!

Thank you everyone for a lovely stay...your efforts were greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliem0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Was lucky enough to stay at The Gate House recently and have to say I was very impressed. What a wonderful experience, I would recommend this place to anyone. Great rooms, great service and brilliant breakfast. Very good sausage!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon1ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stay at the gate house for a return visit with my family this time what a fantastic place all staff very friendly. felt very welcomed great pub next door and there building a restaurant as well will have to return

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate House

Property: The Gate House
Address: 113 Bell Common, Epping CM16 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Epping
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished house which has been transformed into a lovely guesthouse. Our stay was very comfortable and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bathrooms have been fitted to a high standard. Continental breakfast was well presented. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gate House Epping, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing