We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for overnight” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Hotel Epping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hotel was close to Epping Town. On arrival the room looked cleaned and was tidy. After been in the hotel room for 5 mintues, there was cobwebs on the curtains with spiders in. The net only covered a section of the window and dirty.

Under the bed had not been hoovered with what looked like months as the dust was shockling bad.

Other then that it was ok and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky84209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    70
    118
    80
    87
See reviews for
78
103
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed here after a works party at North Weald Airfield, and booked as it was close, when we arrived after booking through booking.com, we were told there was no booking, then they changed their minds, was given our room, ground floor over in what appeared to be old barracks or an old school corridor. there was approx 10 of us staying in the hotel so after the event we returned to the bar to find the bar staff drunk, and with no idea. we tried to order some sandwiches which were overpriced, and took approx 3/4 of an hour to arrive. When we retired to our rooms we saw that the sheet was not big enough for the bed, there was no mattress protectors but it was a comfortable enough bed. The room was so stuffy, but as it was ground floor we didn't feel comfortable leaving a window open. When we got up in the morning, we made a coffee, I think the satchets had been in the room for ever it was foul. I think this is a disgrace to the Best Western brand, and will not be staying there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epping hotels

Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel has certainly seen better days and the exterior is shabby and the room smelt of decay. Service was average as was the food. It would need substantial refurbishment to come up to the standard of say, a Premier Inn. Restaurant staff were friendly. This hotel caters for coach tours and when they tourists are in, there is very little left from the cooked breakfast buffet. One week there was no bacon! The toasters take forever so don't expect any toast either. I tried the Indian food and it was surprising good, The rest of the food in the restaurant is average at best and often poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have never stayed in a more run down hotel than this.
Had an executive room, the most expensive they had as the reviews were bad.
Room was clean although not so long ago refurbished. Few stains on furniture but was acceptable. Rest of the hotel looked like a ghetto from Schindlers list film set.

Breakfast poor & hotel full of Romanian tourists. Cold fried eggs, grilled tomatoes, undercooked sausages & undercooked hash browns & that was it for hot food other than toast you cooked yourself if the toaster was not in use. Not the breakfast or standard I have at all other Best Western Hotels.

Would I stay again....No! Far too expensive for what you get.

On the plus side, the on site Indian restaurant does serve amazing Indian food & very authentic. Would eat Indian there again any time!

The young girl on reception deserves a medal as she appears to run the whole hotel by herself

Room Tip: Don't. There are cheaper hotels around. Do have an Indian meal there though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonboywalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a weekend away for a friends party and I wouldnt recommend it.The room itself was OK, except for some oversized furniture! However the corridors and rest of the building are a tired 60s building which meant the ventilation is terrible- the room was boiling for most of the night and they dont have a/c anywhere. No bottled water in the room and about 10 minutes from the shops.
Free parking, many of it nearer the rooms, so find out the room before you park.
The hotel looks very shabby, and there are lots of outbuildings. It's like someone converted an office block in to a hotel and hasnt done very well. Don't expect glamour.
Breakfast is not very palatial, as long as you like eggs and sausages you'll be fine. There are no other options. Even the tea was terrible and grey looking.
Staff are nice. Wifi was slow but free.

Room Tip: When booking, request a fan and a non smoking room. This hotel still has smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Property: The Bell Hotel Epping
Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing