We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olde Worlde Charm - ex”

The Thatched House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Epping
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Thatched House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Epping B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Olde Worlde Charm - ex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a fantastic weekend break at The Thatched House in Epping. It is a quaint hotel with lots of charm and we felt very well looked after by management and staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Very clean, comfortable room with tea-making facilities in our room. Breakfast was included and we had to go to the café literally across the road from the hotel - full English highly recommended! Very convenient for walks in the lovely village of Epping and Epping Forest, and good links for Stansted airport. Short walk from central line underground station.
Excellent value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 343Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The first thing that hit us on arriving was the limited car parking and then the cramped entrance and stairs leading to tight corridors leading to reception. Then, probably the most frustrating thing was that the manager and his assistant both smoked heavily in reception and it permeated into the corridors & bedrooms, horrible, but arriving late in the day we could now not make alternative arrangements.
The complete hotel was very tired with worn carpets and decor, the room's floor sloped quite considerably from the edge of the bed to the door which made it difficult to maintain balance especially in the night to & from the en-suite. The lights were old & dim and some not working. the en-suite was small and to give a false sense of size they had fitted it out with small units, very small toilet, sink & mirror very low and bath so small that you could only sit in it with knees bent up. It was on a main road with several Pubs / eating houses, so noisy, and along with the excessive noise from inside, through the walls, it was not possible to get a rersonable sleep.We booked for B&B only to find out that the breakfast was in a cafe across the road and which only offered English breakfast ! We were very disappointed and annoyed that they could advertise the place so falsely/.

Room Tip: To be fair we could only comment on the one room, and that would be negatively, but from the general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epping hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Last minute booking. Quite clean but the lady at reception was smoking so hall really was smelly! All other places in hotel were non- smoking! Room was comfortable no food available you have to eat out and have breakfast in cafe opposite- no problem with that. No- one there for check out! So don't stay in room 8 as pigeons cooing all night kept me awake! Shame really a bit rough round the edges xx Needs some TLC.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jockey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed there January 19 2013.
Old world charm. Very relaxed.
Very comfortable and laid-back!
TV and Ensuite. Single B&B room had 1 double and 1 single bed.
Recommended for hassle-free accomodation.
Dermot

Room Tip: Especially handy for Epping Forest walks and Luton and Stansted Airports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slodown33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Seeking accommodation that wouldn't break the bank for one night in Epping, we were offered a room at very short notice. Having had some very ordinary experiences in similarly priced hotels around London we were not expecting much. The approach to reception through a maze of old corridors flavoured with the occasional smell of stale beer and smoke did not augur well, however we were very pleasantly surprised to find our room was meticulously clean, well appointed and obviously maintained to a high standard. Comfortable beds, hot water, good bathroom and tea-making facilities. The host could not do enough for us, and there was an excellent restaurant under the same roof - just right for weary travellers. Awoke next morning to a snow-covered world and so happily postponed the next stage of our trip and booked a further night at The Thatched House. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPG037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
0.0 mi away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
3.9 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatched House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatched House Hotel

Property: The Thatched House Hotel
Address: 236 High Street, Epping CM16 4AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Epping
Also Known As:
The Thatched House Hotel Epping, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing