We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have sent clients to Pontlands Park Hotel many times and the staff are always so professional and friendly, the Manager Jonathon is lovely to work alongside and makes sure that everyone is well looked after and catered for. We highly recommend this hotel. They are currently having the bedrooms refurbished and look wonderful.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms away from reception are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL-Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your review of Pontlands Park and I am glad that Jonathan and the team always ensure that you and your guests enjoy your time with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you like the refurbished bedrooms, we are very proud of them, we will be continuing the refurbishment of the bedrooms and some of the public areas during 2012 and look forward to showing you the changes.
Happy New Year and many thanks for your continued custom.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    90
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
109
114
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Piastow, Poland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Very traditional English hotel. I had huge apartment with separate bedroom and spacious bathroom. You have there everything you need. Very nice roof window. I felt a traditional British climate there. Rooms are clean and convenient. Hotel is expensive
Restaurant in the hotel but after first dinner we decided to eat outside.
Breakfast in self-serve style - you can compose your Full English breakfast by yourself

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiszpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your recent review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Suites.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at begining of October for a couple of days on business and was definately worth the money. My company booked me into a standard room which was definately a good size room, clean bathroom and all you would want from a hotel room. took a wnder about to see what the place had to offer and bumped into a couple of builders who explained they were refurbishing one wing of bedrooms, nosely i asked for a sneaky peek. They showed me into one that had recently been finished and i have to admit they got it spot on these rooms were something else. lovely big room with foyer area for luggage and coats. They explained the rooms had been totally gutted and refitted. I then nipped down to reception to ask if i could upgrade and pay the difference myself which they said would be fine as it was available for my two nights. Boy was that worth the money, super comfy bed, top spec bathroom and furniture to match the high standard of work that had gone into it. The rest of the hotel was very pleasant and the staff were a friendly and helpful bunch but idnt really get to enjoy the spa or restaurant as I was at work most of the time but the new room certainly proved a relaxing place to return to. will be back in a couple of months and will certainly be booking up to stay in one of these rooms again and hopefully get a swim or sauna in next time.

Room Tip: ask to experience the new refurbed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your review and apologies for the delay in responding.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the newly refurbished bedrooms, we have now completed more of these and this project will continue throughout 2012 and as well as bedrooms we will also be making changes to the restaurant and bar.
Next time you are in the area please do stay again and see the further improvements we have made.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
413 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times now. Although the hotel is undergoing refurbishment I did not hear any noise or see any contractors. I did forget my brush and comb and asked reception if they had any to no avail. The hotel staff very polite and helpful and the food was good, although the menu is not that extensive, what I had was good.Breakfast was excellent, but watch the plates they were very hot! This hotel is close to the A12 so was very handy for my business trip.I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of different rooms and I have found them all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your review and apologies for the delay in responding.
Last year we refurbished a number of bedrooms and that redevelopment of the hotel is continuing in to 2012, including changes to the restaurant. However we are very mindful of ensuring that these works do not interfere with guests enjoyment of their visit to Pontlands Park.
Following your comments we have reviewed our supplies of guest amenities and now keep a wider range at reception.
We would like to welcome you back to Pontlands Park in the future to show you the changes we have made.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of July with our 18 month old daughter.
The reason we booked here was for the swimming pool (very restricted hours
for children) which is on the hotel site but is part of a spa. The leisure
area is really nice and clean and gets a big thumbs up. The staff in the
hotel were all extremely nice and helpful especially when we said we were
not happy with the first room they gave us. There is a vast difference in
the types of rooms available. The first room we stayed in was an internal
room which was roasting hot (it was July) - the air conditioning did not
make any difference. The lounge area of this room had a glass roof and it
was so bright in the room that you were literally squinting to see
anything. Very unpleasant. The next morning we asked to be moved and the
staff very kindly did this to a room with a window which was much better.
However if you are booking this hotel be aware that it hosts numerous
events and for the 4 nights we were stayed there was an event on each
night. This meant a lot of noise as there was a marquee in the garden
blasting music and it also meant the bar area was very busy and you felt as
if you were gate crashing a wedding (all we wanted was a quiet drink in the evening). The external room we stayed in for 3
nights was comfortable and very clean. The staff kindly put a special
nappy bin in our bathroom. We wouldn't stay again as it didn't offer us
value for money when you take into account the noise and the fact that we
felt we couldn't sit in the bar and have a drink at night because of
everything going on. The hotel also charges £15 a night for a travel cot -
it works out cheaper to buy one if staying for more than 3 nights!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarasCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for visiting and taking the time to review Pontlands Park.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed the spa, we do restrict children's access to the pool as it is a members club as well as available to hotel residents but at the weekends they are welcome from 10.30am until 4pm.
It is very good to hear that the staff at the hotel also looked after you well and apologies that you did not like the first room you were given. We try to be as child friendly as possible and It is always good to hear that the little touches, like the nappy bin are appreciated.
During the summer we are a very popular venue for weddings and other functions and the team should have advised you of any that were booked for during your stay and I'm sorry if they didn't.
The layout of the hotel has been the same for many years and we have noticed the issue of the bar not being a relaxing space for residents not at functions become more of an issue, and as such we are building an extension to provide a new lounge bar area, this work begins next week, will not impact on the operation of the hotel and will be finished late spring 2012. We are also in the process of refurbishing a number of the bedrooms with the first phase already completed.
I am always disappointed to hear that we have not fully met a customers expectations and would ask that if you are ever in the area again you do give us another try and see the changes and improvements we have made and continue to make to ensure that guests feel as welcome and comfortable as possible during their time with us.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife as we were attending a function at the hotel.

Location
The Hotel has good access to the A12 and is a short drive into Chelmsford town centre.

Hotel
The Hotel looks great from the outside and internally is just as impressive.
There is an indoor and outdoor swimming pool as well as a café and treatment rooms.
Car parking is no problem.

Room
We stayed in room 50 which has a four poster bed. This is a very large room with an en-suite bathroom. In the room there is a safe, tea/coffee facilities, water, TV, ironing board, desk, table & chairs.

Food / Drink
The breakfast was very nice in the form of a hot and cold buffet. This is served in the conservatory which had a pleasant relaxed atmosphere.
There are two bars in the hotel.

Staff
The staff were very friendly on arrival, during the evening and in the morning at breakfast.
I got the impression that the owners really care about their hotel and genuinely want their guests to be comfortable.

Overall
I would recommend this hotel especially if attending one of the events/functions hosted there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are currently refurbishing a number of the rooms at the hotel and since your visit, the room you stayed in, room 50, has been completely gutted and will be completed in mid October. If you're going to be in the area try to drop in and see the changes, I think you'll be surprised by how different it will look.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed here for one night for a friend's wedding. Our room on the ground floor was huge though a little dated. The room faced the marquee so we didn't have a nice view but the hotel is in a nice rural location. I think if you were not a wedding guest the location of our room would have been very noisy. The breakfast the next morning was fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
14.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
2.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing