We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

If you are looking for a little piece of heaven, this is it. An exceptional hotel in lovely peaceful surroundings with a relaxing pool and spa.
We have stayed at Pontlands Park before and we are very impressed with the renovations that have taken place.
Our room and bathroom were beautifully decorated, spotless and extremely comfortable with everything we could possibly need. The food was excellent; the staff were friendly and very helpful.
With no disruption at all, work was taking place in the new lounge which already looks fantastic with views out to the spa and well kept gardens. Looking forward to returning to see it complete.

I really can’t recommend Pontlands Park highly enough. Absolutely one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    90
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
109
113
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kinsale, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I came to stay with family for two nights at Pontlands Park. Having been in hotel management for years, my expectations were high. Upon arriving we were taken with the beautifully maintained grounds and quaint atmosphere. The antique furnishings were well-kept and breathtaking at every turn. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Kevin was particularly helpful, courteous and constantly attentive to our every need. Charlotte staffed the desk often during our stay and assisted us with directions and local activities that were accurate and helpful. Another front desk staff employee gave a detailed explanation of our charges and processed our early checkout with ease and care. The breakfast buffet was delicious, hot and plentiful. Waitstaff were kind and extended serving for late-comers. Housekeeping was delightful and attentive to our every need. The room was immaculately clean and stocked, bathroom was delightful and every expectation was met, if not exceeded.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerilyn616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Pontlands Park, it is always good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay, I know how critical those in this industry can be so it was even more rewarding.
I have passed your thanks on to the whole team and in particular the staff you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area

Jason Bartella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Only stayed overnight, but the room was big spacious and beautifully furnished. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool and the spa were fantastic, nice and relaxing as was the atmosphere.
The WiFi was excellent, worked wherever we were in the hotel, kept the kids happy.
Refurb work was underway while we were there and the done parts looked great, looking forward to going back to see the new lounge. All seemed well managed as works did not disrupt our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
I was very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Pontlands Park and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to see the new lounge and restaurants once they are finished.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had to stay at this hotel because of a nearby wedding. There are no lifts so had to carry our luggage up loads of stairs. No porters available. Booked a suite room newly refurbed at 175 pounds. Total rip off as it was an ordinary bedroom with an annexe room with a sofa and wardrobe. Room was OK but expensive and the rest of the hotel is dated, old and in need of loads
of money spent on it. Breakfast was a joke. A buffet style greeted us with 5 waitresses all standing around talking. Took our seats waiting for one of them to take our tea and coffee order. They just carried on chatting. Eventually we got up and asked for some tea and they pointed to a DIY coffee and tea table.....why on earth have so many staff. I paid 175 pounds to make my own tea....the breakfast was cold and the atmosphere in the restaurant dire. Will never return and on checking out had to listen to guests moaning about the noise levels due to a wedding disco going on till 1am. My advice is stay well away....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theshutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
I was very disappointed to read your review and as such asked the Manager to contact you directly to discuss the points you had raised, however to date (23/05) he has not been able to.
Although you were in a newly refurbished room you mentioned that you felt the hotel was dated, in addition to refurbishing bedrooms we are currently in the process of also refurbishing the public areas, the restaurants and lounge are now completed and this project will continue.
We are only a 2 storey building and don't have a lift but the staff have assured me that they did offer to help you with your bags but you chose not to accept.
I would like to apologise that we failed you at breakfast and I have asked that all staff receive refresher training to ensure that our usual high standards don't slip again.

If you are in the area again we would of course like to welcome you back to show you the further improvements we have made.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel was reasonably well situated with good access to Chelmsford. Reception was reasonably efficient although no one offered to assist me with my 3 bags up to my room. Dinner was nicely presented by an efficient waiter, although the background musac was provided by the local radio station which was a little unusual. Breakfast is an extra cost of £13.50 which was extortionate and not included in the price of the room which is not made clear when booking. Everything was self service and there seemed sufficient food available, although the scrambled egg had clearly been standing for some time. Wifi was poor even though my room was directly over the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Pontlands Park.
I have looked in to the points you have raised and whilst I don't like to challenge guests the website you booked through does state that the very competitive rate you paid is room only.
As you would have noticed we are in the middle of a large refurbishment programme to improve the guest experience and for a while this resulted in our usual music system being disconnected which is why the radio was playing during dinner.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to see the refurbishment finished and the new public areas within the hotel fully operational.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April. We were visting family & friends for a big birthday celebration. We found this hotel on last minute.com and booked after reading the other reviews.
We were not disapointed, the room was spacious & clean as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful always a hello & a smile for you. We had pre-paid for breakfast & on a last morning we had to leave early before breakfast. The nice night porter made us tea & toast at 6.15am which was apreciated.
The grounds of the hotel were nicely kept & the spa looked good too, although we did not try it.
Overall we would return to this hotel & highly recommend a stay if in the area.
Thankyou to all the staff for a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sellicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to Pontlands Park, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the team ensured you were well looked after.
We would love to welcome you back when you are next in the area, at which time you will be able to enjoy our new lounge and refurbished restaurants.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband, baby daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Pontlands while visiting family in Chelmsford. The setting and grounds are beautiful - we had a view of fields and the hotel's pond. We stayed in a superior room which was immense, so lots of room for the travel cot, and very comfortable. We were advised when booking that a wedding was taking place but our room was at the far end of the property and very quiet. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful on the phone and in person. My only small gripe was that the room was rather hot. Although in Great Baddow this would make a nice alternative to hotels in the centre of Chelmsford, with a country feel but only a short drive into the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Firstly I would like to apologise for not replying to your review sooner.
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed by our refurbished superior rooms.
When you are next in the area we would love to welcome you back to see our newly built lounge and refurbished restaurants.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
14.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
2.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing