We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
burnham on crouch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

room was ok, basic but functional and clean, could have done with some more coffee and tea etc in the room, ate in the restaurant in the evening, food was of a good standard, well presented and service was good, breakfast was ok, though the waiter said we could get brekkie at 10am, so came down at 10, only to find that food stopped at 9.45, so past it`s best full english was the order of the day.
But all in all it is a lovely well run hotel, and would stay again..

Room Tip: don`t be late for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrya a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and dinner but I am a little disappointed that you considered the room to only be basic and functional, we are a luxurious three star hotel and have spent over £1.5million refurbishing all of the bedrooms and public areas and receive many positive comments about the high standards of decor and furnishings we have used.
If you felt that the selection of tea and coffee available was not sufficient and needed extra, reception would have been more than happy to organise this.
Apologies that the waiting staff misled you about the finish times for breakfast but I am pleased they still managed to accommodate you.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back if you are in the area again.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    90
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
108
113
6
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a room for Good Friday (room 68), planning to have a spa and pool weekend with the kids. As we were going primarily for the spa facilities we checked the family times (Fri 4-6pm) and double-checked by phone when we were booking that we would be able to use the spa facilities on both days, we were assured we would be. So we were extremely dissappointed when we turned up at 4pm on Friday and found that the Spa & Pool had closed for the day due to the bank holiday. Why were we not told this when we booked?? Closer inspection of the spa timetable does show bank holiday times (closes 4pm, just 1hour after earliest check-in) which we missed, but why were we told that we could use the spa facilities on both days when it closed just after check-in on the Friday?? We checked out immediately and got a refund, but got nothing for a wasted bank holiday and a pointless 100 mile round trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your visit to us last week.
Although within the same grounds the leisure centre is operated as an entirely separate business and is predominantly a members club which allows hotel residents complimentary access. Hotel staff are aware of its opening times and I can only assume that the mistake stemmed from it being a Friday with bank holiday hours which we usually associate with a Monday. However as you stated they are available on the website where you had originally looked to confirm the children's access times.
Please accept my apologies that you were misinformed and did not get the enjoyable night away you had planned.
Should you be in the area again we would be more than happy to welcome back.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived at the Pontlands Park Hotel via a winding drive across it's extensive rounds. Despite there being a wedding in process, there was more than adequate parking quite near to the reception and extensive overspill parking onsite. Reception staff were not particularly friendly but went about their duties in a polite and efficient manner. Our room, having recently been refurbished, was clean and well presented, if a bit bland. The bathroom was clean and entirely functional although the bath was very narrow and might be uncomfortable for anyone of a heavy build. The room was one of the smaller ones available but was nevertheless of substantial size. The room was quiet and overlooked pleasant countryside. We asked at reception for additional towels as despite booking a double room, only single towels were provided and also additional pillows. The towels were in our room when we went up to bed but not the pillows.
On the first evening we ate in the restaurant, I had Lamb Wellington and my wife a curry. The Lamb Wellington was very nicely seasoned and cooked and of high quality. The accompaniment of potato and vegetables were also well prepared and presented. The service was well matched to the fine food.
On the second morning however, breakfast was very poorly served. We spent most of the time looking for waiters to bring items that on our previous day’s breakfast, were on the table. The breakfast is a buffet type kept slightly warm in a bain Marie. The bacon was very fatty and the beans quite dried out.
We opted for coffee. The coffee turned up but with no milk. When I had found a waiter and the milk subsequently arrived, we found there was no sugar. Toast turned up but there were no preserves on the table. By now I was beginning to get very frustrated at having to keep getting up and complained to the waiter who ignored me completely. Finally I had to ask for butter, when it turned up it was rock hard and could not be spread. I complained to the waiter and he said that it had just come out of the freezer and that it was all there was, and walked off. He didn’t look for the options of taking butter off other tables or using a microwave to defrost. Fortunately the lady on the next table let us have some of their butter. I felt quite exhausted and agitated at the whole experience which was not what I had hoped for when I booked a relaxing weekend away.
The hotel also has two swimming pools, one of which can be converted to open air for the summer. There was also a spar. I did not try these facilities but they looked to be well kept and maintained and made pleasant areas to relax and perhaps read. The bar and lounges were very comfortable and well served by staff. The grounds and patio areas appeared nicely kept and would be very pleasant on a summers day I imagine
Sadly, the breakfast episode and in particular the attitude of the waiting staff at breakfast, was so far below an acceptable standard, I would not visit this hotel again or recommend it to anyone else. I have given an average rating purely because the hotel could be much much better were it to manage some of the staff better and improve the quality of the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhmyGod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I take all feedback very seriously and am disappointed to read many of your comments but would like to thank you for the positives in amongst them.
It is a shame you didn't discuss any of the points raised in your review with a manager on duty as it is much easier to resolve things in person and at the time.
I have asked the manager to investigate all of the issues you have highlighted and also to contact you directly to discuss them.

I do hope you will return and allow us to show you our usual high standards.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked the marquee for a Sunday afternoon to host a tea dance to celebrate our recent wedding overseas. From the moment we booked we couldn't have asked for more attentive staff. We had several questions and queries but all were dealt with satisfactorily and swiftly. On the day, we were able to get early access to decorate the beautiful marquee and considering there had been a wedding there the night before they cleaned and tidied well. There were other events on at the same time as our tea dance but this didn't spoil our day. The afternoon tea was suburb, the staff were excellent. Our only concern was a coeliac guest was poorly after the event so it is possible that her food wasn't quite as gluten free as it should have been. But apart from that the whole tea dance experience was perfect. My husband and I stayed overnight after our event and again the hotel experience was also perfect! Beautiful luxurious room and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b33ntheret00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your wedding reception held here last summer.
I am pleased to hear you were well looked after by the team and that everyone enjoyed the event.
With regards to the gluten free items served for your coeliac guest, at the hotel we pride ourselves on freshly preparing all of the food we serve, however due to the complexities of a gluten free diet and preparation of other items in our kitchen we always buy in items for a gluten free afternoon tea, any problems your guest experienced shouldn't have been as a result of items served to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pontlands Park again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked afternoon tea and cakes for our daughters 18th Birthday to celebrate with family.
The service was excellent accompanied by very good food. Would highly recommend this to any of our friends or relatives. A thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable afternoon was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent visit.
I am pleased you all enjoyed your celebrations and hope you will return again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

As a treat to ourselves we stayed a night for valentines.

I spend many nights in 5 star modular constructed international branded hotels each year which are pretty sterile and numb. It made such a change for me to stay in this amazing hotel which was full of character. Pontlands hotel is set in scrumptious grounds entered by driveway and set in this beautiful building. This hotel is proper In every way, from its internal tasteful decor and the service provided by its staff, to the high quality well appointed and spacious rooms. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were somewhere very special!

That evening we took drinks in the bar followed by dinner in the hotel restaurant. We sunk into culinary heaven as we devoured 3 amazing courses which were simply amazing. The menu was NOT monopolising on the commercial aspect of valentines like many other restaurants, and was the everyday menu. The service throughout the hotel was impeccable and attentive.. Breakfast the following morning did not disappoint either.

I would highly recommend this hotel and its facilities to anyone.

GO, STAY AND ENJOY!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Needfone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay on Valentine's Day.
I am pleased that you appreciated the fact that we didn't go with the obvious and all too often overdone cheesiness for Valentine's, and instead decided to stick with doing what we always do and ensuring everyone had a fabulous time.
Your positive comments about the hotel and staff are much appreciated, although we are only a three star hotel we strive to overachieve in all areas, in fact just this week we received a Merit Score from the AA that fell in to the top end of the bracket required for a four star property, something me and the team are very proud of.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My husband booked one night away as a treat for Valentines weekend. We lived in Great Baddow for 3 years after we married but had never been here.

Check in was seamless although no one offered to help with our luggage. The room was huge & clean with a lovely view out on to the swimming pools. The bathroom was amazing, it looks very newly done up.

Parking was just outside the hotel.

Big flat screen TV & very comfy bed. All that was missing was a mini bar/fridge or some still water & some glasses would have been good. I called to reception to get fresh milk for coffee & some glasses & they came very quick & with a smile.

Breakfast was nice, full English buffet & toast to order, very good quality,

We didn't use the pool as the spa was fully booked up for treatments but it looked nice.

We ate out at Russell's a nearby restaurant so didn't get to try the bar or restaurant food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Evitaesther123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGroup, Owner at Pontlands Park, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for our review following your stay with us for Valentine's Day.
I am pleased you liked the hotel and its facilities, as you mentioned all of the bedrooms have been recently refurbished.
As a three star hotel we are not required to have a porter on duty but the staff should have asked if you wanted assistance and offered to find someone to help with your luggage, sorry that they didn't, I will follow this up.
We do hope you will return again soon and choose to dine in our Restaurant or Lounge on your next visit, both of which offer a wide range of dishes and a great selection of wines.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
14.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
2.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing