We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant place and great for weddings”
Review of Pontlands Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pontlands Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant place and great for weddings”
Reviewed 7 May 2009

My son had his wedding reception here and family members travelled from all parts of Ireland/Europe and England to attend. Many of us stayed as guests as well as attending the reception. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to help. We made last minute request for example, chair covers. They phoned a couple of contacts and got us a good deal the day before the wedding, keeping in touch with us by mobile to let us know how it was going. All our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The wedding reception was excellent. The meal was delicious and well served by attentive staff. Everyone who stayed and attended the wedding had a great time and I would definately recommend this hotel for a wedding. We had a memorable and excellent time here at this lovely hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    90
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
109
113
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We stayed at Portlands Park Hotel as part of a 50th birthday party. We know the area quite well already due to family connections and this is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. It is situated in a fantastic location just off the A12 in extensive grounds giving the impression of being out in the country when in fact you are only a short distance from a main road and Chelmsford itself.
The hotel has bags of character and on arrival the staff were very friendly. Our room was situated in a modern extention away from the old building itself. The room was very large and extremely clean with good facilities such as tea, coffee, trouser press and room safe.
Although we were attending a private party at the hotel, the staff were serving food all evening and were very friendly and polite. In the morning were have an extremely good self service breakfast with all you could wish to eat. Again the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall I have to say that if you are staying in the Chelmsford area and want somewhere special to stay at a reasonable price then I would certainly recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Large fresh bedroom
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersuffolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Upon arriving your first obstacle is managing the oddly arranges large flower tubs in the car park, once this is achieved you can enter the gothic doorway into the hotel.

Your immediately meet with a shabby reception area, wires pens bits of paper galore.

The rather cold unpleasant receptionist informed me that I didn’t have a booking; all I could do was pass the email conformation and hope for pity. My room was “blue” the bed was lumpy and a number of white stains could clearly be seen on the bed. Luckily complaining was no problem as I was directly above reception, the reception phone can be heard very clearly along with conversations which continue until the early hours of the morning. The free view was not working and the "free" wi-fi did not reach my room.

I ate in the dated stuffy and hot restaurant, the menu “brief”, I was delighted to see duck in orange sauce, took me right back to 1980’s. which was also possibly the last time the dried flowers were dusted.

The Pool seemed clean and the staff were helpful, however the club members are not welcoming and taking a dip in the pool seem to insult there southern sensibilities, the pool areas are purely for exercise and not for enjoyment.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast, good luck in finding a clean table, you could always play find the staff to take your mind off things until you leave. If you find one try not to upset them a this will add to your unpleasant stay

Good luck

  • Liked — the iron
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TrickyDickyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

An old hotel badly needs renovating, booked to attend wedding locally and wished to avoid Stanstead Airport hotels - a big mistake.

Booked executive room upgraded to suite, rooms old and beds a total joke, small hard and by todays standards unacceptable.

Extra £25.00 charge for checking in early?

Avoid if you can....

  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

We stayed while visiting friends at Christmas, and enjoyed every minute. Nothing was to much trouble no matter how busy the hotel and staff were. Our room was large and comfortable. We will return.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — old bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu-PotEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2006

This moderate large sized guest house looks great. The English architecture is appealing to the eye.
The reception staff were courteous but not overly friendly. We inquired about eating on check in at about 2100 but we were told we could only eat in our rooms. We tried to get a drink at the bar, but we were told that it was reserved for a Christmas party.
The night security rolled his eyes up to heaven when we asked what time breakfast was at (we arrived back from town at 0200 - but we were well behaved!)
The pool and gym facilities were poor.
The rooms were very spacious, including the bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was good.

To be honest, I did not really feel welcome at the Pontlands, which is a shame.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie.ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2006

From the moment we arrived (early check-in not a problem) we were treated like family. Reception handled every need or question with promptness, courtesy and respect. The room was superb, the grounds immaculate, the food was above average, and did I mention the great service from the staff? Above and beyond the call of duty. We hated to leave, and would definitely stay there again and again.

  • Liked — Hard to say: location, staff, beautiful grounds.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Tips/Secrets — The front desk personnel are great, just ask them something and they'll do it.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerzeedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Baddow
4.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
14.5 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
16.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
2.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontlands Park

Property: Pontlands Park
Address: West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford CM2 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford > Great Baddow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Baddow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontlands Park 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontlands Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontlands Park Great Baddow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing