We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ideal for Stansted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Great Dunmow
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on the recommendation of a colleague and was not disappointed. The hotel is a former coaching inn in the centre of Great Dunmow which is only 10 minutes from Stansted Airport. It has been recently refurbished and is now a very smart looking 'inn with rooms'.

I was greeted on arrival by two of the friendliest and most enthusiastic ladies behind reception that you could want to meet. Check in was efficient and speedy and I was offered assistance with my luggage and shown to my room.

My room was a single in a converted stable block and was a good size and very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything required and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a good shower and was also very clean. Only small comment would be that the vastly oversized wardrobe, which you couldn't actually open because of the chair in front of it, probably wasn't necessary in a single room and a shelf in the bathroom would have been useful.

The hotel has a very nice bar serving good real ale and appears to be very popular with the locals. Breakfast was also very good with a nice selection of continental products and the hot food cooked to order (if the toast was also done to order it would have been 5 star!)

The hotel has free WiFi which is a good speed and free car parking. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone using Stansted and it's much better value than the airport hotels and only a 10 minute drive away. Great Dunmow itself is a very attractive town with a good selection of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

When you eventually find the car park entrance and park up at the back of the hotel, you enter a small reception area. This is where your introduction to the friendly atmosphere begins. Sign in is pain free and the receptionist then offered to show me to my "room", which was actually one of the terraced cottages outside to the rear of the hotel.
Room was well appointed and you are able to park outside. FREE WIFI in all areas (please take note Premier Inns) is good!!
The bar was busy (Christmas parties) but was well served with a nice selection.
I had lunch the following day and the food was well prepared and nicely presented.
All in all a fine stay and thoroughly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try for the cottages outback
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColiniNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here one night and was upgraded to The Honeymoon Suite - which was fantastic! Huge room with sitting area, roll top bath in room, bathroom and inglenook fireplace and lots of beams. It was a little noisy, being directly on the road through the town and the heating could have been turned down a bit, as it was very hot and not adjustable, but nevertheless it was lovely. The public areas are a little tired and the carpets could do with replacing, but the staff are very friendly and the hotel is ideally located in the centre of the town. We ate with friends in the restaurant and the food was just gorgeous - and much appreciated. Breakfast was ok but the buffet was a little sparse with very little fruit and fresh bread, we had to ask for more coffee and we had to find a waitress to take our order after waiting for 10 minutes, but she was very apologetic. Evening restaurant staff were extremely friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovegoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

One night business trip, interesting historic building, helpful staff, filthy stair carpet and too many tripping hazards ( and this from someone who lives in a listed building) my bedroom was a huge room, well equipped and with a very comfy bed. But my nights sleep was ruined by too much traffic noise. Given that my room was right on the main high street ( it's an ancient coaching inn) secondary double glazing is vital .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Br1dgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

There are no words to describe how amazing the staff are at The Saracens Head. They are all so very friendly, kind and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and to a high standard. There is an excellent menu with a good variety of different specials on each evening. There is also a great atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. All in all a great place to stay - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a fabulous stay. Mainly refurbished Hotel and right in the centre of Town - we had a great stay. Ate in the Restaurant on the first night and attended a Private Party on the second night in the Hotel. Very good food and very friendly efficient Staff throughout all areas of the Hotel....highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel to babysit for our grandchildren whilst their parents were at a wedding. The room was excellent, very spacious, modern and clean but with lots of interesting features. The staff were very helpful, heating up babyfood etc and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant and easy.
would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The stables rooms were unique and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
8.7 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
268 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,843 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,425 reviews
12.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: High Street, Great Dunmow CM6 1AG, England (Formerly Saracens Head Hotel Great Dunmow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Great Dunmow
Price Range: £61 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grade II listed building once a traditional coaching inn, set in the historical market town of Great Dunmow, has been fully restored and re-furbished back to a beautiful bar, restaurant and hotel. Find us just off the A120 – we’re about 6 miles from both and only 12 minutes from Stansted Airport. Our menus are thoughtfully created and changed with each season.Free WIFI to all guests and visitors. Enjoy superb food prepared using the freshest local ingredients, with timeless classics and innovative specials. Everything is cooked to order using as much local produce as our head chef can buy, and served in stylish, relaxed and modern surroundings. Our Sunday roast is fast becoming legendary and is served all day. Join us any time for great food and drink and warm, friendly service.We have 31 en-suite rooms each with room service, free wifi and a delicious breakfast served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Great Dunmow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing