We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harwood House
Ranked #2 of 8 Great Dunmow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights over two trips and thoroughly enjoyed both of them.Good service,food and and an excellent large room to facilitate all our cases! Location excellent for Stansted and the local Tesco and Indian Restaurant all contributed to an enjoyable experience.
When visiting UK again would return here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmoothie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    26
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
130
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Where do we begin? Everything about our 5-night stay was superb. Ian went out of his way to provide support for our long, business-related stay in town including use of the washing machine which is certainly not the norm nor expected. The shuttle service was a real bonus, something we didn't realize was available and which turned out to be a big help. Ian goes out of his way to think of solutions to problems or provide suggestions -- and when you're traveling for long periods of time in areas you've never been, you realize just how rare and special that type of service is. Thank you Ian and Helen! Jeff and Elena

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My niece and I spent a fantastic weekend at the lovely Harwood House. Helen and Ian (owners) helped make my first time in England the best. After an extremely comfortable nights sleep, Ian made a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. The bedroom, breakfast room, and gorgeous gardens were so beautiful I posted pictures on my facebook to make all my friends in America jealous lol

After getting lost on a day trip to London, my niece and I called Helen and Ian for help. Ian graciously gave us directions to the correct bus back to Stansted and actually stayed up waiting for us to come back to the Harwood House. He was worried and wanted to make sure we made it back safely.

I have fallen in love with England and plan on a visit soon. I will be staying at the beautiful Harwood House again as well.

Room Tip: The photos shown are exactly like the house. Clean, comfortable, and beautiful. I can't say enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent for early flight from Stansted, sadly far too early for breakfast. But great curry across the road in pub the night before. Very efficient service to and from airport, would stay again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 714Alison14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley
Level Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Graham and I have now stayed at Harwood House on 4 separate occasions which I guess speaks for itself. If you're flying from Stanstead, I really can't recommend this place more highly. We always book the deal whereby we stay overnight before our flight and leave our car with the owners whilst we are away. We then get taken to the airport in the morning and are picked up on our return. On two occasions our flight wasn't too early and we had the delicious cooked breakfast. We were given a menu the previous night and simply chose what we wanted. We could help ourselves to cereal, yoghurts and orange juice. On the other two occasions we had very early flights and we were given a 'packed breakfast' to take with us to eat at the airport. So far we've slept in two different double rooms, both of which were clean and comfortable. On the last occasion we had a twin bedded room as that was the last room available. This too was very comfortable. Toiletries and flannels were available for our use. Staying at Harwood is a great way to begin a holiday and no worrying about driving to and from and parking our car at the airport.

Room Tip: I think they really were all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay - good room with comfy bed. Wifi is free which is what you would expect and no password which makes life easy.

My only one criticism would be the bathroom. I felt it was not up to scratch with the rest of the B&B. It was a little dated, the shower cubicle was very small and the shower underpowered. When there is no bath option the shower really does need to be better in my opinion.

On the plus side - good breakfast, very friendly propriortors and very accommodating.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sw6londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My partner and i recently stayed at Harwood House. It was our first visit to Essex (to attend a wedding). The proprietors provided great hospitality and were very helpful in advising and arranging transportation options to nearby venues. The room was comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay there again when and if we are back in that general area. We certainly give a high recomendation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Dunmow
0.5 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton London Stansted Airport
Hilton London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,113 reviews
6.0 mi away
Avalon Stansted Lodge
Avalon Stansted Lodge
#1 of 2 in Elsenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunmow Guest House
Dunmow Guest House
#1 of 8 in Great Dunmow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harwood House

Property: Harwood House
Address: 52 Stortford Road | near Stansted Airport, Great Dunmow CM6 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Great Dunmow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harwood House offers bed & breakfast accommodation only a few miles from Stansted Airport. A short walk from shops, pubs and restaurants, friendly welcome guaranteed; a comfortable, relaxing night's sleep and delicious home-cooked breakfast. The owner is a licensed taxi driver and provides a park and fly service, call for a quote. All bedrooms en-suite with Freeview TV, free wireless internet access, guest conservatory, guest lounge and license to serve alcohol. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harwood House Great Dunmow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing