We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimichanga - Hornchurch

Chimichanga - Hornchurch
Ranked #41 of 107 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: US$31 - US$44
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Staff hardly spoke English and the food was average at best. No atmosphere and although the restaurant was more or less empty we were say on a table twiggy near the only few other people there rather than being asked where we wanted to sit. Just average really.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    68
    35
    20
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fair service- food ok nothing more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Staff all seem rushed. Not a pleasant experience, I was hoping to be wowed by more woe than anything else. Didn't feel relaxed or at ease, very noisy and music was turned up to drown out the noise which made people talk louder! Food wasn't anything to send my mum a postcard about and the ladies toilets were pooey! Food and drink expensive for what it was. Disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crazybiker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a great night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Went here Friday night with another couple, had booked table, shown to nice large booth. Was attended to quickly by Manager who recommended a wine for us which we all enjoyed, so much so had 4 bottles! All our food was enjoyable, waiting staff were attentive and friendly. Have been here several times now and always have a good night. Had a couple of dishes that have not been so good, potato skins with chorizo was quite bland, but usually food is good. Restaurant is usually busy which makes for a good atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jengajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice staff, food not up too much. I do better at home with an ElPaso kit!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went for sons birthday on an early monday evening in June. More customers than i expected, but not busy. Shown to a table straight away by friendly staff, who took our drinks orders. We had a nachos sharing platter to start, which was a bag of doritos with a few blobs of yukamole, a drizzle of 'sour cream' (no way that was fresh, but some long life stuff) then some cheese and banged in the microwave. a measley portion for 4 (thankfully). Mains were burritos, enchilada, chimichangas. 1 stuffed tortilla, some black beans and rice that had uncooked (or dried out) grains in it. all tasted pretty much the same. The kids had churros for dessert and again, these were underwhelming (and undercooked in the middle). I cannot bring myself to even give it an average. Although the kids liked it (but they love McD's!), I shall not be going back. £80 for 4 with 4 drinks

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
1 review
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Went hear for my wife's birthday with my son and his girlfriend .
-Waited for our table.
-On getting the table 15 minuets to be asked if we wanted drinks and then at the same time wanted the food order.
-Starters cameand whilst eating them along came one of our main courses,not good, as we all
Knew that would be the same one coming back.
-After our starters 30 minuets wait for mains.
-We were never asked if we wanted more drinks, in fact no attention paid to the table .
Food was OK but expected better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimichanga - Hornchurch also viewed

Brentwood, Essex
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Bromley, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Chimichanga - Hornchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing