We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable evening!”

Chimichanga - Hornchurch
Ranked #37 of 112 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked this table for 9 adults on a Saturday night. On arrival we were sat in a very small booth, luckily I hadn't told the restaurant our 9 adults actually included 2 babies, which saved us as then they could sit on the end on high chairs, if there were actually 9 adults we would not have fitted at all! Other than that we all really enjoyed our night, the restaurant was very busy and service was quite slow because of this. But the food was lovely, the atmosphere was good and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloelf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    74
    36
    20
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Staff hardly spoke English and the food was average at best. No atmosphere and although the restaurant was more or less empty we were say on a table twiggy near the only few other people there rather than being asked where we wanted to sit. Just average really.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fair service- food ok nothing more”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Staff all seem rushed. Not a pleasant experience, I was hoping to be wowed by more woe than anything else. Didn't feel relaxed or at ease, very noisy and music was turned up to drown out the noise which made people talk louder! Food wasn't anything to send my mum a postcard about and the ladies toilets were pooey! Food and drink expensive for what it was. Disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crazybiker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a great night!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Went here Friday night with another couple, had booked table, shown to nice large booth. Was attended to quickly by Manager who recommended a wine for us which we all enjoyed, so much so had 4 bottles! All our food was enjoyable, waiting staff were attentive and friendly. Have been here several times now and always have a good night. Had a couple of dishes that have not been so good, potato skins with chorizo was quite bland, but usually food is good. Restaurant is usually busy which makes for a good atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jengajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice staff, food not up too much. I do better at home with an ElPaso kit!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went for sons birthday on an early monday evening in June. More customers than i expected, but not busy. Shown to a table straight away by friendly staff, who took our drinks orders. We had a nachos sharing platter to start, which was a bag of doritos with a few blobs of yukamole, a drizzle of 'sour cream' (no way that was fresh, but some long life stuff) then some cheese and banged in the microwave. a measley portion for 4 (thankfully). Mains were burritos, enchilada, chimichangas. 1 stuffed tortilla, some black beans and rice that had uncooked (or dried out) grains in it. all tasted pretty much the same. The kids had churros for dessert and again, these were underwhelming (and undercooked in the middle). I cannot bring myself to even give it an average. Although the kids liked it (but they love McD's!), I shall not be going back. £80 for 4 with 4 drinks

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimichanga - Hornchurch also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Bromley, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Chimichanga - Hornchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing