We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Quality - Unprecedented Service At All Times”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and my team stayed at the Devonshire Hotel for the best part of two months, the owner and his team have provided a top quality service at all times, it was important to us that our vehicles and property are secure, with CCTV, vigilant staff, its the perfect choice.

During our stay we must have occupied almost every room at some time, each and everyone are at a very high standard within the market place this hotel is placed, you would really struggle to get anything to compare for miles.

It is positioned perfectly for Hornchurch, routes to London and railway.

The breakfasts and attention to detail is unprecedented, please if you are staying on business or pleasure in this area then this hotel is totally for you, my only disappointment is this hotel is not a chain and have others around the UK

Best of luck to Mr Camilleri and his team, great job, will be back soon. happy to give a personal recommendation if required Bob Marshall 07500444583 www.csdglobalgroup.com

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSDGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here at the weekend as we were going to a family party in the area. The hotel staff were so friendly and went out of their way to help. We stayed in a family room which had a huge bed in it which was bigger then a king size, with 2 zed beds for the kids. The room was lovely and clean and we had free wifi and both a bath and a shower. Also a flat screen tv with freeview. My parents stayed in a double room which although was smaller was equally as nice.

The breakfast was lovely and lots of choice. Even if they did not have it on the menu, you could ask for it. My son wanted porridge and my mum wanted pancakes, bacon & maple syrup and there was not problem.

Would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay a lovely one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed on a Saturday for a family birthday party locally. This is a high-class local hotel which has been furnished and equiped to a very high contempory standard, with many high qualtity features. The room we had was very spacious and had everything we needed. It has ample parking, is just 2-3 minutes from the tube station and the breakfast was a feast that was very well cooked and presented. To top it all off, the staff were all outstanding, taking time to expalin everything, and really caring that we had a great stay. From the first receptionist (on Sat 11/1) to the second (Sun 12/1), to the waitress at breakfast, they all really were great people who clearly love what they do. This was a superb stay in an oustanding local hotel and we can't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great and to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twoteapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just returned from our third sojourn at the Devonshire Hotel in Hornchurch. It is an ideal place for us to stay whilst visiting family and friends who live in the area.

The Devonshire Hotel is easily accessible by train and car - we have used both whilst travelling from the north. It is convenient, well appointed and maintained to a high standard. Rooms are comfortable and have excellent ensuite facilities. Staff are friendly and efficient without being intrusive; just right. Breakfast bring a variety of goodies, from the buffet to the best bacon and scrambled eggs.

And, this hotel represents good value for money too. An Ideal Hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I booked an afternoon tea for my mum & daughter here. I have been to lots of London hotels for this service and can honestly say this is the best so far! It is extremely clean, the host was very friendly and attentive. There were 5 different sandwiches which were freshly made and tasty! The homemade scones were beautiful and warm, and the cakes, pastries and Danishes were mouth-watering and set to a pretty winter theme (tiny christmas mince pies, snowball Grenache etc). We took home the cakes we left and decided that we would visit this lovely little hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisamEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently got married on 1st December this year and booked to stay at the Devonshire Hotel along with family members the night before my wedding. The staff could not have been more helpful, which led me to also book to stay in their Honeymoon Suite for the night of our wedding. Every little email I sent was quickly responded too and helped make what can be a very stressful time, completely easy.
The morning of the wedding we had to wait to get into the Honeymoon Suite as someone had booked it the night before, we were told this might not be until midday, however the staff were so efficient that we were in there well before 11am which meant i had far more room to get ready with a make up artist, bridesmaid and two photographers (very handy!).
After our wonderful wedding my husband and I got back to our room and they had left a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a huge box of chocolates and a lovely selection of fresh fruit. They were also very quick to assist me in leaving some chocolates and prosecco for my parents in their room as a thank you.
In total there was also 7 of my guests staying and they all had nothing but praise for this gem of a hotel. Lovely clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful cooked breakfast which defintely eased hangovers too!
Thank you Devonshire Hotel :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A lovely hotel, tastefully decorated, very clean and in great condition. The bedrooms are very comfortable and room had been rearranged to accommodate my children. Breakfast was great with a good, fresh selection (the banana bread was to die for)and we could have whatever cooked breakfast we wanted. Very friendly and helpful staff, even warmed milk up for the children at night. Good location near to the station, ideal for trips into the centre of London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornchurch
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
2.2 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,025 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Romford
302 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge London Romford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Address: 94 Station Lane, Hornchurch RM12 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hornchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornchurch
Price Range: £66 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Hotel is a family run boutique hotel which combines modern, stylish accommodation with a friendly, intimate service, delicious breakfast & freshly prepared home-made snacks. We also offer free wi-fi & secure parking. Located in Hornchurch (Essex), it is well linked to central London by underground and overground train links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Hornchurch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing