We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hornchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Nice clean and modern room. Quiet given the road and a good bed to boot. Bathroom clean and modern with good freebies. Free Wifi and good breakfast. Off-road Parking and only 5 minutes to tube station for getting to London and 3 mins to Hornchurch for a range Of restaurants. Will be using it again and planning to put my Boss there on his next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Binz019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    36
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
61
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went to a surprise party in hornchurch last evening and stayed at this very convenient and friendly hotel! Really pleasant and spotlessly clean. £79 for bed only - but going out for breakfast anyway so didn't mind, but perhaps a light breakfast could have been included ? Booked through booking.com so very pleased and would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cariad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

this is a very clean, comfortable place to stay- excellent service and friendly staff who gave me lots of good local tips. would definitely recommend. Amazing choice of breakfast too, made this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjiill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I don't normal stay anywhere other than branded hotels but on this trip decided to give the smaller independent hotel a try and I must say was very impressed with the Devonshire from the checking in with Kim to the breakfast and goodbye! It is in a prime location and a 2 minute walk from Hornchurch town centre which offers a fantastic variety of pubs and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and well presented and decorated in modern style. The room I had was a double single occupancy located on the ground floor and was very well decorated and spotless, the en-suite was finished to a very high standard if a little bit on the small size for me...but you have to bear in mind I'm a bit of a chunky love monkey. Breakfast was fantastic with a very good selection of hot and cold meals. I must recommend the Devonshire for anyone staying in the area who would love to try a really good hotel. Oh and a tip for you guys that are thinking of booking a double single occupancy room.....I would advise you to book direct with the Devonshire as you get breakfast free...just another nice little touch!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Demetrios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for one night for a nearby family party.
Excellent hotel with large and very clean well equipped rooms. Staff very helpful.
Breakfast is very good too. Would certainly recommend anyone to stay at The Devonshire.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a very large & well appointed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for the one night to go to a family get together, but the Devonshire was ideal for this. The beds were huge, a lovely shower and spacious room. The velux had a black out blind and I slept all night without hearing a thing. Breakfast was plentiful and service very prompt.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Devonshire and it definitely won't be the last.
Having enjoyed staying in standard rooms before, we were even more impressed by the "accessible" room we had booked this time. Having just had a hip replacement I really appreciated the "wet room" shower and hand rails in the bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely as usual and parking is good.
The owner and his family/staff are always happy to help.
Shops and Underground/Railway stations are only a few minutes walk away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornchurch
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
2.2 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Romford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.6 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Romford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: 94 Station Lane, Hornchurch RM12 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hornchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hornchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devonshire Hotel is a family run boutique hotel which combines modern, stylish accommodation with a friendly, intimate service, delicious breakfast & freshly prepared home-made snacks. We also offer free wi-fi & secure parking. Located in Hornchurch (Essex), it is well linked to central London by underground and overground train links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Hornchurch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing