We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for my requirements and a bargain!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hornchurch
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for my requirements and a bargain!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I booked this hotel direct for a Saturday night stay on the 12th January and hadn't read any reviews before booking. I took their "Winter Special" offer which gives a discount of around 40% off the usual rate.
Subsequently having seen the publicity regarding the Xmas meal incident, I had a look at Tripadvisor.
Yes it is a large pub with a function room and Sky TV and it was fairly lively...the bar is open until midnight and the disco in the function room (I think it was a Saturday birthday bash) was thumping away until midnight.
Not ideal for some I agree but having been pre-warned by other reviewers, I didn't expect to be tucked up in bed by 9 pm.
I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. My room (a double) was spacious and warm and the bed was very comfortable so that when I turned the light out at midnight, I went straight to sleep. The room and bathroom were very clean and all the usual bits and pieces were included.
The only thing that wasn't working was the hot tap in the basin but the bath and shower were absolutely fine. I mentioned the hot tap to the Manager in the morning and he thanked me for pointing this out and said he would get it rectified.
The breakfast was "Continental" as advertised. There were a variety of cereals, yoghurts, bread for toast and the usual spreads. In addition there were chocolate and plain croissants plus plenty of different fruits. Also there was a pot of hot coffee and I saw others with tea.
The pub has a large car park so no worries in that direction.
This is not a part of the world I had visited previously and I probably won't be back there anytime soon. Would I stay here again as a solo traveller? Yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
14
25
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lincs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

we arrived on a friday night 8pm, we thought the sat nav was wrong as the arrival view is not what is on the innkeepers website, the outside looks awful and run down. we waited at the bar 20mins just to ask where to check in as not very clear, staff served the regulars leaving us waiting and the pub was heaving!. we went out for a meal and returned at 10.30pm, we went to our room 101, and thought we could sleep as long day the next day. WRONG there was a disco of some sort going on until 12.30am, we could not hear the tv or each other talking, the clearout and tidy up noise went on for a further 1hr. we researched the pub as no one from reception answered the phone, this is where we discovered that 30 people were poisened on xmas 2012 day by the pub and sadly a lady passed away as a result. the food the next day was continental - choice was limited to just toast and cereal, not croissants or anything to increase choice. fruit was ok.

overall the pub was rediciously noisy, not suitable for families (we did not have our child this day otherwise would have be furious) or if needing sleep as a stop over route. this pub is only suitable if you are young, single, and out all night clubbing. then you will fall into bed after pub closing and be none the wiser.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dee211278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hornchurch hotels

london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very clean room, warm, extremely clean en-suite, amazing choice of food for continental breakfast, suitable for families, central location with parking, extremely good value. Separate entrance from Public bar, bar snacks and meals available.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Quite disappointed by the Inn. Although we booked 3 rooms well in advance, when we got there the double room was not available because some problem with the shower. We got a twin room instead with a shower that frustrated the living daylights out of us because it trickled out at such a pathetic rate .....enough about that.
The single room we booked for our daughter, had the curtains lying on a chair next to the bed with no apologies and NO effort to sort the problem out. We hung the curtains ourselves because no one wants to sleep with a street light shining into your room all night. Half of the curtain hooks were missing.
There was no heating and we froze our butts off....this was rectified the next morning when temperatures dropped to below zero. We got moved to the double room the next night and again no heating in the evening. This shower was barely better than the previous room.
The food in the pub was ok. Not wonderful and not really bad either. The breakfast was slap dash - thick slices of bread in a basket with an ancient toaster battling to serve one family never mind a breakfast room full of people. On Saturday morning we did get croissants as well but no cheese, nor cold meats which are all part of a continental breakfast menu.
The pub was packed and I think they should put all their effort into the pub and restaurant and not offer any accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here recently for the weekend. Firstly the senior staff were very rude and arrogant, On arrival I got tutted at and eyes rolled as I could not hear what was being said to me, due to the very loud disco in function room. Then as we checked into the room it was very smelly, possibly plumbing issue with toilet? Lots of damp and mold all around windows and net curtains. Big stains on carpet and radiator. Curtains hanging off. Glass on corridor floor. Cracked bath panel. stains on the ceiling from leaks we think as look like water marks and was freezing! No heating on and my children now have colds! Please avoid :(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Booboospeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We visited friends in the area and chose this hotel as we thought the price was reasonable.

On arrival we checked in ok, but were advised that we couldn't have a cooked breakfast the following morning as we hadn't ordered it online at least 24 hours prior to arrival.

We expected basic, but didn't expect the room to be so awful. The bedroom was small and you couldn't walk to the the other side of the bed as there was no room unless you wanted to knock yourself out on the TV on the wall! The room needed a good clean and the bathroom was grim.
The stains on the toilet seat made me gag - it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.

However the bedding looked new or fresh and the bed was comfortable. There was one pillow each and although there was a spare one in the walk in wardrobe we wouldn't use it as the wardrobe was smelly and the the pillow was on a dirty floor.

We found a mouse trap behind the bed and there was a dead pigeon on the window ledge.

Even though it was cheap, there is no excuse for it being dirty.

I wouldn't recommend it and will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night after a wedding reception nearby. We would have driven straight home from the wedding reception after checking in, had family not been staying at the same hotel with us. We were told that our room door was still drying after being kicked in the night before, what a welcome.
After the wedding receiption, we all had a drink in the pub downstairs and waited for the pub to close before going to bed as we knew from dropping off our bags earlier in the day that you could hear everything from the room upstairs.
The room was just awful. Bed sheets did not fit the two singles. No air con. Bathroom shower curtain was horrid, toilet wouldn't flush properly, not very clean. Liquid & sticky stains all over the bedroom walls. Dirty carpet. Dated furniture, need I go on?
Breakfast was awful too - only cereal and toast available - served in the pub bar area downstairs with the stench of beer soaked carpet. Tea mugs were dirty and the hot water was luke warm.
We quite simply couldn't wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anon248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornchurch
0.0 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hornchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Romford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Romford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.6 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
Address: The Railway | Station Lane, Hornchurch RM12 6SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hornchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hornchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Essex lodge is ideal if you're looking for a hotel near to London. Set in pleasant Hornchurch, just off the M25, it's less than an hour to Oxford Street via Hornchurch Underground and only a short drive from West Ham FC. With Dagenham Conference Centre on the doorstep, the lodge's 12 comfy, welcoming rooms are a convenient base for business as well as pleasure. After a hard day's work or indeed sightseeing, you can sit back in our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly prepared food. It goes without saying that you'll find a world of shopping, museums and entertainment in London. But you'll find plenty to do in Essex too. Shopaholics are only half an hour's drive from Bluewater and Lakeside, music fans can see what's on at the O2 arena, while wildlife lovers can meander through Epping Forest, the largest public open space in Greater London.Nearby you can take in a play at the Queen's Theatre or have a flutter at Romford Greyhound Centre - one of the few remaining dog tracks in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing